Analysis of Postings on the On-Line Electronic Tendering Service (MERX™) From a Category Perspective

Introduction

1. On July 4th, 2011, the Office of the Procurement Ombudsman (the OPO) received information from a stakeholder raising concerns regarding an apparent "growing number of misclassification of [Request for Proposals] on MERX [TM]."

2. MERX™ is Canada's on-line electronic tendering service that allows Canadian suppliers to search and view requirements published by federal, provincial and municipal organizations. It is owned by a subsidiary of Mediagrif Interactive Technologies Inc., and is operated under a contract from the federal government. Suppliers can purchase subscriptions allowing them to preview and order tender packages, as well as opportunity-matching services. In addition to Canadian public tenders, MERX™ can also be used by suppliers to review private tenders, United States tenders and private construction services.

3. In keeping with its obligations under Trade Agreements , the Government of Canada has implemented policies requiring some requirements to be posted on MERX™. In addition, Treasury Board's Contracting Policy states electronic bidding is a procurement method which promotes suppliers' access to, and transparency in, the procurement process. This method facilitates the government's receipt of best value as it enhances access, competition and fairness in government procurement.

4. Government contracting authorities classify their requirements on MERX™ by selecting Goods and Services Identification Numbers (GSINs). GSINs are based on an international standard coding system established by the North American Treaty Organization (NATO) and are used by the federal government to identify generic product descriptions for its procurement activities.

5. Each GSIN is tied to one category on MERX™. Therefore, the selection of a GSIN will automatically classify the requirement in the pre-established MERX™ category to which the GSIN is linked. For example, the selection of GSIN T000C (Communication Planning and Development) will automatically result in a posting of the requirement in the category Communication, Photographic, Mapping, Printing, and Publication Services. Contracting organizations can select more than one GSIN, and as such, the same posting may appear on MERX™ under several categories (as determined by the selected GSINs).

6. In addition to the categories linked to the GSIN(s) selected, MERX™ also allows adding a specific category. This can only be done if at least one GSIN is already selected. The Notice of Proposed Procurement (notice appearing on MERX™) lists all the GSINs selected, yet only one category is identified. Nevertheless, the posting appears in all categories linked to the GSINs selected.

7. Tutorials, an indexed help system and a Buyer reference guide to assist buyers in posting notices are available on MERX™. Buyers can access these tools once they have entered their buyer profile on MERX™.

8. Suppliers can search MERX™ using GSINs, categories, or keyword text search. Online tutorials are available to suppliers explaining how searches can be conducted. These tutorials can be accessed directly through the MERX™ homepage by suppliers without logging into their profile.

9. The stakeholder alleged postings were misclassified and "riddled with errors" without specifying the nature of those errors. The examples provided by the stakeholder to illustrate the "misclassification" were not federal postings. The stakeholder specifically highlighted the possibility of a requirement being intentionally misclassified to hide it. In the alleged scenario, a preferred supplier having been alerted to where to find the misclassified requirement on MERX™ would be uniquely positioned to respond to the requirement with little to no competition.

10. While the examples provided by the stakeholder related to provincial procurements, and therefore are not part of the OPO mandate, it raised the potential of misclassification occurring in federal procurement. As such, the OPO monitored MERX™ postings to explore the likelihood of potential misclassifications occurring at the federal level.

Why It Matters

11. The OPO's mission is to promote fairness, openness and transparency in federal procurement. The misclassification allegation raised issues regarding access, competition and equity in federal government procurement. Therefore, the OPO conducted this study to assess the validity of the allegation specifically as they applied to federal procurement posted on MERX™.

Methodology

12. The OPO examined the 16 postings provided by the stakeholder as examples of "misclassified" requirements.

13. In addition, the OPO monitored all federal government procurements posted on MERX™ between July 4 and November 28, 2011. These postings were analysed using a two-stage process:

  • Stage 1 The OPO reviewed all requirements posted by the federal government and selected for analysis those which appeared to be anomalous. Postings were considered "anomalous" when they appeared, on the surface, in an unrelated category.

  • Stage 2 - For those postings selected in Stage 1, the OPO reviewed the following information: client department(s); region(s) of delivery or of opportunity; posting product(s); GSINs and categories. This information was analyzed to identify potential trends in the categorization of requirements on MERX™.

Observations and Analysis

a) Analysis of the stakeholder's examples

14. The 16 postings provided as examples of misclassifications were published between July 11, 2011 and July 22, 2011. All appeared in the Communications, Photographic, Mapping, Printing and Publication Services category. Seven were published by an Atlantic provincial government, eight by a Western provincial government and one by a University.

15. Eleven of these 16 postings did not represent issues. These 11 postings contained more than one GSIN. In each case, the GSINs used were analysed and it was determined most GSINs were in line with the requirement. For those cases where a GSIN was not in line with the requirement, at least one of the other selected GSINs was related and therefore, the posting appeared in an appropriate category.

16. Only five postings raised issues, and all five were published on behalf of an Atlantic provincial Department. They all related to road work, however only appeared in the Communications, Photographic, Mapping, Printing and Publication Services category. The same contracting authority prepared all five postings and the same GSIN (T: Communications) was used in all cases.

17. To understand why the postings for road work appeared in this category, the stakeholder contacted the Atlantic provincial Department in summer 2011. The stakeholder provided the OPO with the response given by the Department, which stated "We post our tender on the [provincial] Opportunities Network […] which is maintained by the Department of Supply and Services. I understand that MERX™ gathers information from this site, and then posts it independently of [the Atlantic provincial Department]."

18. Although this organisation is outside of the OPO mandate, we monitored postings on MERX™ of this organization for road work. It was noted the road work requirements posted after the end of September 2011 by the Atlantic provincial government appeared in the category Construction Services.

b) Analysis of federal procurement postings

19. Between September 7, 2011 and November 28, 2011 , the federal government published an average of 40 to 50 postings on MERX™ each business day. It is therefore estimated the federal government published between 4080 and 5100 postings on MERX™ during the July 4 to November 28, 2011 period monitored by the OPO.

20. Of the postings on MERX™ monitored by OPO, a total of 30 met the OPO anomalous criteria and were selected for further analysis. The 30 selected anomalous postings represent approximately 0.65% of all the postings published during the period of this study. Given this low number, it was not possible to detect trends regarding: client department(s); region(s) of delivery or of opportunity; requirement(s); GSINs and categories.

21. On the surface, these postings appeared to be classified under unrelated categories. For example, a requirement to upgrade playground structures appeared in the Textiles and Apparel category. However, after further review, the OPO noted this category was associated in MERX™ to GSIN N7830C (Playground Equipment) which is an accurate representation of the requirement. 24 of the 30 postings identified belong to this "on the surface" group. However, the other six postings revealed the following two issues:

1) Potentially Inappropriate Categorization Based on the GSIN(s) Selected

22. The first cluster consisted of four postings appearing to be posted in an inappropriate category based on the GSIN(s) selected:

  1. Posting 1
    The requirement was for drawing, designing and machining services related to laboratory instruments and tools. A total of five GSINs were selected for this posting. Given the GSINs used, the posting appeared in both Construction Services and Information Processing and Telecommunication Services categories. None of the five GSINs are an accurate representation of the requirement. The OPO searched for other, more precise GSINs to better represent this requirement but was unsuccessful. GSINs were found for design services or laboratory instruments, but we did not find one GSIN with both components.
  2. Posting 2
    The requirement was for the purchase of kerosene lanterns which appeared in the Electrical and Electronics category. The selected GSIN, N6260 (Nonelectrical Lighting Fixture), which represents the requirement, is associated with the category Electrical and Electronics. After review of other GSINs available, the OPO noted the GSIN N6260BB (Lantern, Kerosene) could also have been considered. However, this GSIN is also linked to the category Electrical and Electronics.
  3. Posting 3
    The requirement was for a freefall parachute instructor. Insofar as this requirement is for training services, one would expect to find it under the Educational and Training Services category. However, GSIN V204IAl (Parachute Operations) was used in this posting, which matches the requirement's description. This GSIN rolls-up to the category of Transportation, Travel and Relocation Services. Furthermore, the OPO did not find a GSIN describing this requirement with more precision, including all GSINs associated with the Educational and Training Services category.
  4. Posting 4
    The requirement was for the purchase of cleaning supplies. At first glance, the classification of the requirement under the Office Equipment category seemed inappropriate. However, the OPO notes the GSIN N7920BL (Brush cleaning, tools and parts, nylon bristles) matches the description of the requirement. The OPO reviewed other GSINs but was unable to find a more appropriate representation.

2) Inconsistencies in Categorization

23. The second cluster included postings for similar requirements appearing in different categories.

  1. Postings 5 and 6
    The requirement in both cases was for the purchase of bottled water. However, the GSIN used for one requirement was N4110J (Dispensers, Drinking Water, Mechanically Cooled) which is tied to the Air Conditioning and Refrigeration Equipment category, while GSIN N8960B (Water, Distilled) linked with the Food category was used for the other requirement.

24. Our analysis has shown that given the large number of GSINs, several relevant GSINs could be used for the same requirement. For example, the OPO found GSIN JI7220A (Carpet, Installation) linked to the category Furniture whereas GSIN 5169FC (Carpet Laying/Installation) is linked to the category Construction Services. In both cases the requirement is the same: laying carpet. However, depending on the GSIN selected, this requirement would appear in different categories. Conversely, a precise GSIN does not exist for some requirements, as it was the case for posting 1. In either scenario, the process of selecting GSINs can be subjective, leading to inconsistencies in the categorization of postings for similar requirements.

Conclusion

25. The OPO did not find misclassification of requirements in federal procurement. Further, the OPO could not identify trends related to departments, regions of delivery or of opportunity, or requirements. In addition, it is also worth noting the number of postings which required in-depth analysis represents 0.65% of all the postings done by the federal government during the review period.

26. After more in-depth analysis of federal procurement postings analysed in stage 2, it was determined the GSINs used were in line with the requirements. The perception of misclassification can be explained by the link between some GSINs and their associated category (e.g. N6260 Nonelectrical Lighting Fixture in the category Electrical and Electronics). Moreover, the roll-up of the GSIN to its category is beyond the control of the contracting organization.

27. It is worth noting MERX™ is a tool used to both search and publish contracting opportunities. Tools are available to both suppliers and buyers on how to conduct searches and how to publish contracting opportunities. Given the number of GSINs available, the lack of training could lead to inconsistencies in their selection and, as a result, to the perception of anomalies in categorization of requirements.

Analyse des avis affichés sur le service électronique d'appel d'offres (MERXMC) en fonction de leur catégorisation

Introduction

1. Le 4 juillet 2011, un intervenant transmettait des renseignements au Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement (BOA). Il exprimait ses préoccupations concernant un apparent nombre accru d'erreurs de classification de demandes de propositions sur MERXMC.

2. MERXMC est le service électronique d'appel d'offres en ligne qui permet aux fournisseurs canadiens de rechercher et de visualiser les besoins publiés par des organismes fédéraux, provinciaux et municipaux. MERXMC appartient à une filiale de Mediagrif Interactive Technologies Inc. et est exploité en vertu d'un contrat conclu avec le gouvernement fédéral. Les fournisseurs peuvent acheter des abonnements leur permettant de prévisualiser et de commander des dossiers d'appel d'offres, ainsi que d'accéder à des services de jumelage d'appels d'offres. En plus des marchés publics canadiens, MERXMC peut être utilisé par les fournisseurs afin de prendre connaissance des marchés privés, des marchés américains et des services de construction privés.

3. Conformément à ses obligations en vertu des accords commerciaux , le gouvernement du Canada a mis en uvre des politiques exigeant l'affichage de certains besoins sur MERXMC. De plus, la Politique sur les marchés du Conseil du Trésor stipule que la soumission par voie électronique est une méthode d'approvisionnement qui favorise la transparence et l'accès par les fournisseurs au processus d'approvisionnement. Cette méthode facilite l'obtention du meilleur rapport qualité-prix par le gouvernement puisqu'elle accroît l'accès, la concurrence et l'équité en ce qui a trait aux marchés de l'état.

4. Les autorités contractantes du gouvernement classifient leurs besoins sur MERXMC en sélectionnant des numéros d'identification des biens et services (NIBS). Les NIBS sont fondés sur un système international de codification normalisé établi par l'Organisation du Traité de l'Atlantique Nord (OTAN) et sont utilisés par le gouvernement fédéral pour identifier des descriptions de produits génériques pour ses activités d'approvisionnement.

5. Chaque NIBS est lié à une catégorie dans MERXMC. Par conséquent, la sélection d'un NIBS classifie automatiquement le besoin dans la catégorie préétablie de MERXMC à laquelle le NIBS est lié. Par exemple, la sélection du NIBS T000C (Planification et élaboration de communications) entraînera automatiquement l'affichage du besoin dans la catégorie Services de communication, de photographie, de cartographie, d'impression et de publication. Les organisations contractantes peuvent sélectionner plusieurs NIBS. De cette façon, une même publication peut être affichée sur MERXMC dans plusieurs catégories (en fonction des NIBS sélectionnés).

6. En plus des catégories liées aux NIBS sélectionnés, MERXMC permet d'ajouter une catégorie donnée. Cela peut se faire seulement si au moins un NIBS est déjà sélectionné. L'avis de projet de marché (avis publié sur MERXMC) énumère tous les NIBS sélectionnés, mais une seule catégorie y est identifiée. Néanmoins, l'avis est affiché dans toutes les catégories liées aux NIBS sélectionnés.

7. Des tutoriels, un système d'aide indexé et un guide de référence de l'acheteur pour aider les acheteurs à afficher des avis sont accessibles sur MERXMC. Les acheteurs peuvent accéder à ces outils une fois qu'ils se sont connectés à leur profil d'acheteur dans MERXMC.

8. Les fournisseurs peuvent quant à eux effectuer des recherches dans MERXMC à l'aide de NIBS, de catégories ou de mots clés. Des tutoriels expliquant comment effectuer des recherches sont disponibles en ligne pour les fournisseurs. Ces derniers peuvent consulter ces tutoriels directement à partir de la page d'accueil de MERXMC sans avoir à se connecter à leur profil.

9. L'intervenant prétendait que les avis affichés étaient classifiés incorrectement et qu'ils étaient truffés d'erreurs et sans en préciser la nature. Les exemples fournis par l'intervenant pour illustrer la classification erronée ne portaient pas sur des avis affichés par le gouvernement fédéral. L'intervenant a plus particulièrement souligné la possibilité qu'un besoin soit intentionnellement classifié de façon inappropriée afin de le cacher. Dans ce scénario présumé, un fournisseur privilégié ayant été avisé de l'emplacement exact du besoin mal classifié sur MERXMC occuperait une position unique pour répondre à la demande, avec peu ou pas de concurrence.

10. Bien que les exemples fournis par l'intervenant aient trait à des marchés provinciaux et qu'ils ne faisaient donc pas partie du mandat du BOA , ils laissent entrevoir la possibilité de classifications erronées dans les marchés fédéraux. Par conséquent, le BOA a vérifié les avis affichés sur MERXMC afin d'évaluer la probabilité que des classifications erronées surviennent au niveau fédéral.

Pourquoi c'est important

11. La mission du BOA est de promouvoir l'équité, l'ouverture et la transparence des marchés fédéraux. Les allégations de classification erronée ont soulevé des questions en matière d'accès, de concurrence et d'équité dans les marchés du gouvernement fédéral. Conséquemment, le BOA a mené cette étude pour évaluer la validité des allégations en ce qui concerne les marchés fédéraux affichés sur MERXMC.

Méthodologie

12. Le BOA a examiné les 16 avis fournis par l'intervenant à titre d'exemples de besoins mal classifiés.

13. De plus, le BOA a vérifié tous les marchés du gouvernement fédéral affichés sur MERXMC entre le 4 juillet et le 28 novembre 2011. Ces avis ont été analysés à l'aide d'un processus en deux étapes :

  • tape 1 Le BOA a examiné tous les besoins affichés par le gouvernement fédéral et a choisi d'analyser ceux qui semblaient anormaux. Des avis étaient considérés comme « anormaux » lorsqu'ils semblaient, à première vue, classifiés dans des catégories non pertinentes.

  • tape 2 Dans le cas des avis sélectionnés à l'étape 1, le BOA a examiné les renseignements suivants : ministère(s) client(s), région(s) de livraison ou d'opportunité, produit(s) de publication, NIBS et catégories. Ces renseignements ont été analysés en vue de cerner des tendances potentielles dans la catégorisation des besoins sur MERXMC.

Observations et analyse

a) Analyse des exemples de l'intervenant

14. Les 16 avis fournis en guise d'exemples de classification erronée ont été affichés entre le 11 et le 22 juillet 2011. Tous les avis apparaissaient dans la catégorie Services de communication, de photographie, de cartographie, d'impression et de publication. Sept ont été publiés par un gouvernement provincial de l'Atlantique, huit par un gouvernement provincial de l'Ouest et un par une université.

15. Parmi ces 16 avis, 11 ne posaient pas de problème. Ces 11 avis contenaient plusieurs NIBS. Dans chaque cas, les NIBS utilisés ont été analysés et il a été déterminé que la plupart des NIBS correspondaient au besoin. Pour les cas où un NIBS ne concordait pas au besoin, au moins un des autres NIBS sélectionnés par l'autorité contractante pour décrire le besoin était pertinent et, par conséquent, l'avis apparaissait dans une catégorie appropriée.

16. Seulement cinq avis posaient problème, et ils ont tous été affichés au nom d'un gouvernement provincial de l'Atlantique. Les cinq avis portaient sur des travaux routiers, mais ils apparaissaient uniquement dans la catégorie Services de communication, de photographie, de cartographie, d'impression et de publication. Les cinq avis ont été préparés par la même autorité contractante et, dans tous les cas, le même NIBS (T : Communications) a été utilisé.

17. Afin de comprendre pourquoi les avis relatifs aux travaux routiers apparaissaient dans cette catégorie, l'intervenant a communiqué avec le ministère provincial de l'Atlantique à l'été 2011. L'intervenant a transmis au BOA la réponse formulée par le ministère en question. Le répondant du ministère déclarait que les appels d'offres sont publiés sur le Réseau des projets de marché de la province, lequel est tenu à jour par le ministère des Approvisionnements et des Services. Le répondant disait également comprendre que MERXMC recueille l'information contenu sur ce réseau et l'affiche ensuite indépendamment du [ministère provincial de l'Atlantique].

18. Bien que cette organisation ne relève pas du mandat du BOA, nous avons vérifié les avis affichés sur MERXMC pour cette organisation, portant sur des travaux routiers. On a remarqué que les besoins en travaux routiers publiés après la fin septembre 2011 par le gouvernement provincial de l'Atlantique apparaissaient dans la catégorie Services de construction.

b) Analyse des avis de projets de marchés fédéraux

19. Entre le 7 septembre et le 28 novembre 2011 , le gouvernement fédéral a affiché une moyenne de 40 à 50 avis sur MERXMC à chaque jour ouvrable. Il a été estimé que le gouvernement fédéral a affiché entre 4 080 et 5 100 avis sur MERXMC au cours de la période surveillée par le BOA du 4 juillet au 28 novembre 2011.

20. Parmi le nombre d'avis affichés sur MERXMC qui ont été vérifiés par le BOA, 30 avis ont été considéré « anormaux ». Ces avis ont été sélectionnés aux fins d'une analyse plus poussée. Ces 30 avis représentent environ 0,65 % de l'ensemble des avis affichés durant la période examinée. Compte tenu de ce petit nombre, il n'a pas été possible de dégager une tendance relativement aux éléments suivants : ministère(s) client(s), région(s) de livraison ou d'opportunité, besoin(s), NIBS et catégories.

21. À première vue, ces avis semblaient classifiés dans des catégories non pertinentes. Par exemple, un besoin visant la modernisation de structures de terrain de jeux apparaissait dans la catégorie Textiles et vêtements. Toutefois, après un examen plus poussé, le BOA a noté que cette catégorie est associée dans MERXMC au NIBS N7830C (équipement de terrain de jeux) qui est une représentation exacte du besoin. Le BOA a déterminé que vingt-quatre des 30 avis considérés « anormaux » appartenaient à cette catégorie d'« à première vue ». Les six autres avis affichés présentaient les deux types de problème suivants :

1) Catégorisation possiblement inappropriée selon le(s) NIBS sélectionné(s)

22. Le premier groupe était composé de quatre avis qui semblaient avoir été affichés dans une catégorie inappropriée en raison du/des NIBS sélectionné(s) :

  1. Avis 1
    Le besoin portait sur des services de dessin, de conception et d'usinage liés à des instruments et des outils de laboratoire. Cinq NIBS ont été sélectionnés pour cet avis. Compte tenu des NIBS utilisés, l'avis apparaissait dans les catégories Services de construction et Services de télécommunications et de traitement de l'information. Aucun des cinq NIBS ne représentait exactement le besoin. Le BOA a cherché d'autres NIBS plus précis qui seraient plus représentatifs du besoin, mais n'a rien trouvé. Des NIBS pour des services de conception ou des instruments de laboratoire ont été trouvés, mais aucun ne portait sur les deux éléments à la fois.
  2. Avis 2
    Le besoin visait l'achat de lampes à kérosène et il apparaissait dans la catégorie Produits électriques et électroniques. Le NIBS sélectionné, N6260 (Dispositif d'éclairage non électrique), qui représente le besoin, est associé à la catégorie Produits électriques et électroniques. Après avoir examiné d'autres NIBS disponibles, le BOA a noté que le NIBS N6260BB (Lanterne, à kérosène) aurait également pu être envisagé. Toutefois, ce NIBS est également lié à la catégorie Produits électriques et électroniques.
  3. Avis 3
    Le besoin visait un instructeur de parachutisme en chute libre. Dans la mesure où ce besoin visait des services de formation, on aurait pu s'attendre à le retrouver dans la catégorie Services d'apprentissage et de formation. Toutefois, le NIBS V204IAl (Opérations de parachutisme) a été utilisé pour cet avis, ce qui correspond à la description du besoin. Le NIBS s'inscrit dans la catégorie Services de transport, de voyage et de réinstallation. De plus, le BOA n'a pas trouvé de NIBS décrivant plus précisément ce besoin, y compris tous les NIBS associés à la catégorie Services pédagogiques et de formation.
  4. Avis 4
    Le besoin visait l'achat d'accessoires de nettoyage. À première vue, il semble que la classification du besoin dans la catégorie Matériel de bureau soit inappropriée. Or, le BOA note que le NIBS N7920BL (Brosse de nettoyage, outils et pièces mécaniques, poils en nylon) concorde avec la description du besoin. Le BOA a examiné d'autres NIBS, mais n'a pas trouvé de représentation plus appropriée.

2) Incohérences dans la catégorisation

23. Le deuxième groupe comprenait des avis portant sur des demandes similaires apparaissant dans différentes catégories.

  1. Avis 5 et 6
    Dans les deux cas, le besoin visait l'achat d'eau embouteillée. Toutefois, le NIBS utilisé pour un des besoins était N4110J (Fontaine réfrigérante, à compression) qui est lié à la catégorie Matériel de climatisation et de réfrigération, alors que le NIBS N8960B (Eau distillée), qui est lié à la catégorie Alimentation, a été utilisé pour l'autre besoin.

24. Notre analyse a démontré que, considérant le grand nombre de NIBS, plusieurs NIBS pertinents peuvent être utilisés pour un même besoin. Par exemple, le BOA a constaté que le NIBS JI7220A (Installation-moquette) renvoie à la catégorie Ameublement alors que le NIBS 5169FC (Tapis-moquette-pose/installation) renvoie à la catégorie Services de construction. Dans les deux cas, il s'agit d'un même besoin : la pose de tapis. Pourtant, dépendamment du NIBS sélectionné, ce besoin serait catégorisé différemment. À l'inverse, un NIBS précis n'existe pas pour certains besoins, comme c'était le cas pour l'avis 1. Dans les deux scénarios, le processus de sélection de NIBS peut être subjectif et ainsi engendrer des incohérences dans la catégorisation des publications pour des besoins similaires.

Conclusion

25. Le BOA n'a pas constaté de classification erronée de besoins dans le cadre des marchés fédéraux. Le BOA ne pouvait pas non plus dégager de tendance relativement aux ministères, aux régions de livraison ou d'opportunité, ou aux besoins. Il convient également de souligner que le nombre d'avis qui ont nécessité une analyse plus poussée représente 0,65 % de l'ensemble des avis du gouvernement fédéral affichés pendant la période d'examen.

26. Après une analyse plus poussée des avis de projets de marchés du gouvernement fédéral analysés à l'étape 2, il a été déterminé que les NIBS utilisés concordaient aux besoins. La perception de classification erronée peut être expliquée par le lien entre certains NIBS et leur catégorie connexe (p. ex. : N6260, Dispositif d'éclairage non électrique, dans la catégorie Produits électriques et électroniques). Or, la façon dont le NIBS s'inscrit dans sa catégorie est indépendante de la volonté de l'organisation contractante.

27. Il convient de noter que MERXMC est un outil utilisé pour rechercher et publier les occasions de marchés. Des outils sont à la disposition des fournisseurs et des acheteurs pour déterminer comment effectuer des recherches et comment publier des avis d'occasions de marchés. Compte tenu du nombre de NIBS disponibles, le manque de formation pourrait mener à des incohérences au moment de la sélection et, par conséquent, à la perception d'irrégularités dans la catégorisation des besoins.