What to Expect: Procurement Practice Review Guide

September 2016
Promoting Fairness, Openness and Transparency in Federal Procurement

1 Introduction

This guide outlines the Office of the Procurement Ombudsman’s (OPO) process and timelines for conducting procurement practice reviews, and provides an overview of the expectations of all parties involved.

1.1 The procurement ombudsman’s mandate

Paragraph 22.1(3)(a) of the Department of Public Works and Government Services Act states:

  • The Procurement Ombudsman shall, in accordance with the regulations,
    • (a) review the practices of departments for acquiring materiel and services to assess their fairness, openness and transparency and make any appropriate recommendations to the relevant department for the improvement of those practices;…

OPO refers to the process associated with executing this element of the Procurement Ombudsman’s mandate as a Procurement Practice Review.

1.2 What are procurement practice reviews?

Procurement practice reviews are independent and objective examinations of federal procurement practices to assess their fairness, openness and transparency. Among other things, OPO considers the consistency of the practices with applicable laws, policies, guidelines and standards in the course of its assessment.  Practice reviews may cover one or multiple federal organizations.

1.3 Which organizations does the procurement ombudsman review?

The Procurement Ombudsman reviews the procurement practices of federal organizations listed in schedules I, I.1 and II of the Financial Administration Act. However, Section 3 of the Procurement Ombudsman Regulations (the Regulations) prohibits the Procurement Ombudsman from reviewing the procurement practices of the Canadian Security Intelligence Service, and the staff of the Senate and House of Commons.

2 Information necessary for a review

According to Subsection 4(2) of the Regulations, the Procurement Ombudsman may request any document or information necessary for a practice review.

2.1 Type of information required

Information is defined by OPO as records in the possession of the federal organization subject to the review, as well as information provided to OPO via communications with staff from the federal organization. OPO requires access to all documents associated with the requested procurements (including the procurement, program, quality assurance and/or oversight, and financial files) as well as all applicable policies, guides, and process maps to ensure the Ombudsman can issue a report meeting the requirements of Subsection 5.(a) of the Regulations. In addition, access to personnel is necessary for interviews or follow-up questions. All information collected during a practice review is treated by OPO in accordance with Government of Canada security and information management requirements.

3 What to expect

3.1 Timely access to information

Subsection 6(1) of the Regulations requires the Procurement Ombudsman to complete a procurement practice review within one year after its launch; in other words, issue a report. Therefore, timely access to information is crucial to the review process. OPO defines timely as obtaining documents within 5 working days of a request. If the federal organization cannot provide documents requested within this timeframe, it is expected to provide OPO with a reason in writing within the 5 working days. The OPO review team and reviewed organization can discuss and agree on a timeframe. In the event OPO encounters delays in obtaining information, the issue will be escalated. Delays in obtaining requested information can amount to a denial of access and, in these scenarios, will form part of the report’s findings.

3.2 What the reviewed organization can expect

OPO will:

  • Inform the deputy head of the federal organization in writing of the launching of a practice review
  • Provide the Terms of Reference for the review
  • Provide review timelines
  • Make requests for information in writing
  • Adhere to Government of Canada and, if applicable, the federal organization’s security and information management policies when handling information
  • Provide the federal organization the opportunity to review and provide comments on draft reports

3.3 What OPO expects

The federal organization should:

  • Identify a representative, who will coordinate meetings, between OPO and organizational staff, and coordinate the responses to information requests within the organization
  • Respond to information requests in a timely manner
  • Provide access to staff from the organization in a timely manner
  • Refrain from disclosing review information to parties outside of the review process
  • Return all copies of draft reports to OPO or dispose of draft reports in accordance with Government of Canada security and information management policies when handling information

4 Procurement practice review phases

Procurement Practice Reviews are carried out in three phases:

  • Planning
  • Examination
  • Reporting

4.1 Planning

The Procurement Ombudsman launches a practice review when reasonable grounds are established. Practice review topics, and the selection of federal organizations to be reviewed, are established through strategic planning for practice reviews.

Launching a Procurement Practice Review

The Procurement Ombudsman launches a practice review by notifying the organization’s deputy head, in writing, of the review topic and OPO’s point of contact. The notification letter will also request identification of and contact details for an organizational representative. The federal organization is expected to acknowledge receipt in writing and provide the name and contact information of a representative.

4.2 Examination

During the examination phase OPO will:

  • Meet with the representative(s)
  • Provide the Terms of Reference for the review
  • Make requests for information, such as initial data for file selection
  • Review and analyse documentation, such as internal policies, guidelines and information provided by departmental staff
  • Select and review departmental files
  • Interview staff

Meetings and Interviews

Several meetings will take place during the examination phase. An initial (i.e. kick-off) meeting will take place between the organization’s representative(s) and the OPO review team to discuss the review process, outline timelines, and discuss the Terms of Reference. Follow-up meetings may be scheduled as required (see Table 1).

Table 1 – Meetings with Reviewed Organization
Meeting Objective Attendees
Kick-off meeting Discuss review objectives, key dates, milestones and expectations Organizational representative(s) and OPO review team
Interviews Collect or clarify information Organizational staff (Interviewees selected by OPO) and OPO review team
Follow-up meeting(s) Collect or clarify information Organizational staff required to provide information and OPO review team

Requests for Information and File Selection

OPO’s operating standard is to review at least 30 procurement files per federal organization as part of a procurement practice review. OPO will request initial procurement-related data to develop a sample selection strategy specific to the review. The sample can be selected judgementally or at random, depending on the review. Once the sample is selected by OPO, the organization’s representative will be informed of the selected files in writing and is expected to respond to information requests in a timely manner.

4.3 Reporting

During the reporting phase OPO will:

  • Share preliminary findings
  • Make any appropriate recommendations
  • Provide the organization with two drafts of the report

Preliminary Findings

Once OPO completes the analysis, preliminary findings will be shared with the representative of the reviewed organization. The preliminary findings will summarize the results of the analysis.

Recommendations

Based on findings from analysis in the examination phase, the Procurement Ombudsman may make recommendations to improve the fairness, openness, and transparency of the procurement practices reviewed. The draft recommendations will be shared with the reviewed organization through the first draft report.

Draft Reports

Paragraph 5(b) of the Regulations requires the Ombudsman to:

provide an opportunity to the department whose practices have been subject to the review to make comments on the proposed recommendations and the reasons for them within 30 working days after their receipt.

OPO provides the federal organization subject to the review with two opportunities to make comments and provide rationale for its comments on the draft report and proposed recommendations (see Table 2). The first draft report is sent to the organization’s representative with a request for comments. The second draft report is sent to the organization’s deputy head with a request for comments. In addition, OPO will include a table outlining how comments received on the first draft were disposed of by OPO. In the event the organization does not respond within the timelines provided (see Table 2), OPO will conclude the organization has declined to comment.

Final Report

A copy of the final report is provided to the Minister of Public Services and Procurement as per Subsection 6(1) of the Regulations. OPO also provides a copy of the final report to the deputy head of the reviewed organization 5 working days prior to the report’s publication. All procurement practice review reports are published in their entirety on the OPO website in both official languages.

Table 2 – Reporting Milestones
Document Timeframe
1st draft report to organizational representative 20 working days to respond
2nd draft report and disposition table to deputy head 10 working days to respond
Final report to the Minister of Public Services and Procurement, and deputy head of reviewed organization Provided 5 working days prior to publication

4.4 Follow-up practice review

OPO conducts a follow-up review two years after the Procurement Ombudsman has issued a procurement practice review report where recommendations were made. The purpose of the follow-up review is to report on the progress made in response to the Procurement Ombudsman’s recommendations and the issues identified in the review.

The Procurement Ombudsman launches the follow-up review by notifying the organization’s deputy head in writing. The notification letter identifies OPO’s point of contact, requests identification of and contact details for an organizational representative, and seeks information on progress made by the organization since the publication of the practice review. The federal organization is expected to provide a written response. The same process for reporting (see 4.3 Reporting) is followed.

5 Road map to procurement practice reviews

Road map to procurement practice reviews - Long description below
Image description

This is a flow chart of the Road map for procurement practice reviews. First the planning phase: OPO will send a notification letter to deputy head and request for dept. representative. The dept. will confirm receipt and provide name and contact information. Second the reporting phase: OPO will request initial data for file selection and departmental documents. The dept. will provide data. OPO will review data, select and review file. Third the Reporting phase: OPO will provide first draft of report to department and request comments. Dept. will provide comment within 20 days. Second draft will be sent to deputy head by OPO and dept. will provide comments within 10 days. Final report will be sent to deputy head 5 day prior to publishing. Report publish on OPO website. Follow-up review (2 years later) OPO will send notification letter to deputy head and dept. will provide name and contact. Same reporting phase will be used.

Guide à quoi s'attendre - Examens des pratiques d'approvisionnement

Septembre 2017

Promouvoir l’équité, l’ouverture et la transparence du processus d’approvisionnement du gouvernement fédéral

1 Introduction

Le présent guide décrit le processus et le calendrier des examens des pratiques d’approvisionnement du Bureau de l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement (BOA) et fournit un aperçu des attentes de toutes les parties visées.

1.1 Mandat de l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement

L’alinéa 22.1(3)a) de la Loi sur le ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux prévoit ce qui suit :

  • L’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement exerce les attributions ci-après conformément aux règlements :
    • a) examiner les pratiques d’acquisition de matériel et de services des ministères pour en évaluer l’équité, l’ouverture et la transparence, et présenter, le cas échéant, au ministre en cause des recommandations pour les améliorer [...].

Le BOA définit un examen des pratiques d’approvisionnement comme le processus lié à l’exécution de ce volet du mandat de l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement.

1.2 Qu’est-ce qu’un examen des pratiques d’approvisionnement?

Il s’agit d’un examen indépendant et objectif des pratiques d’approvisionnement fédérales visant à en évaluer l’équité, l’ouverture et la transparence. Entre autres, le BOA prend en compte le respect des lois, des politiques, des lignes directrices et des normes applicables dans son évaluation. Un examen des pratiques d’approvisionnement peut viser une ou plusieurs organisations fédérales.

1.3 Quelles organisations sont visées par les examens de l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement?

L’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement examine les pratiques d’approvisionnement des organisations fédérales énumérées aux annexes I, I.1 et II de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. Toutefois, l’article 3 du Règlement concernant l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement (le Règlement) interdit à l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement d’examiner les pratiques d’approvisionnement du Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité et du personnel du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes.

2 Renseignements requis aux fins d’examen

En vertu du paragraphe 4(2) du Règlement, l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement peut demander tout document ou renseignement nécessaire à son examen des pratiques d’approvisionnement.

2.1 Type de renseignements requis

Les renseignements sont définis par le BOA comme les dossiers en possession de l’organisation fédérale qui sont assujettis à l’examen, ainsi que les renseignements fournis au BOA dans des communications avec le personnel de l’organisation fédérale. Le BOA nécessite l’accès à tous les documents associés aux approvisionnements demandés (y compris l’approvisionnement, le programme, l’assurance de la qualité ou la surveillance et les dossiers financiers) ainsi que toutes les politiques, les guides et les schémas de processus applicables pour faire en sorte que l’ombudsman puisse produire un rapport respectant les exigences de l’alinéa 5a) du Règlement. De plus, le BOA doit avoir accès au personnel afin de mener des entrevues ou de poser des questions de suivi. Tous les renseignements recueillis lors d’un examen des pratiques d’approvisionnement sont traités par le BOA conformément aux exigences en matière de sécurité et de gestion de l’information du gouvernement du Canada.

3 À quoi s’attendre

3.1 Accès rapide à l’information

Le paragraphe 6(1) du Règlement prévoit que l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement doit effectuer tout examen des pratiques d’approvisionnement dans un délai d’un an. Autrement dit, il doit rédiger un rapport dans ce délai. Par conséquent, l’accès rapide à l’information est essentiel dans le cadre du processus d’examen. Pour le BOA, un accès rapide signifie l’obtention des documents dans un délai de cinq jours ouvrables suivant la demande. Si l’organisation fédérale ne peut pas fournir les documents demandés dans ce délai, elle doit fournir au BOA une raison par écrit dans un délai de cinq jours ouvrables. L’équipe d’examen du BOA et l’organisation visée par l’examen peuvent discuter au sujet du délai et parvenir à une entente. Si le BOA n’obtient pas les renseignements dans les délais prescrits, le problème sera acheminé au palier hiérarchique approprié. Le fait de tarder à fournir les renseignements demandés peut mener à un refus d’accès, ce qui sera noté dans les constatations du rapport.

3.2 À quoi peut s’attendre l’organisation visée par l’examen

Le BOA prend les mesures suivantes :

  • Informer l’administrateur général de l’organisation fédérale par écrit du début d’un examen des pratiques d’approvisionnement.
  • Fournir le cadre de référence de l’examen.
  • Fournir le calendrier de l’examen.
  • Présenter des demandes de renseignements par écrit.
  • Respecter les politiques en matière de sécurité et de gestion de l’information du gouvernement du Canada et, s’il y a lieu, de l’organisation fédérale lors du traitement de l’information.
  • Fournir à l’organisation fédérale la possibilité d’examiner les rapports préliminaires et de formuler des commentaires à cet égard.

3.3 À quoi s’attend le BOA

L’organisation fédérale doit faire ce qui suit :

  • Nommer un représentant qui s’occupera de coordonner les rencontres entre le BOA et le personnel de l’organisation ainsi que les réponses aux demandes de renseignements au sein de l’organisation.
  • Répondre aux demandes de renseignements en temps opportun.
  • Permettre au BOA de rencontrer le personnel de l’organisation en temps opportun.
  • S’abstenir de divulguer des renseignements relatifs à l’examen à des parties non visées par le processus d’examen.
  • Retourner toutes les copies du rapport provisoire au BOA ou les éliminer conformément aux politiques en matière de sécurité et de gestion de l’information.

4 Phases de l’examen des pratiques d’approvisionnement

Un examen des pratiques d’approvisionnement compte trois phases :

  • Planification
  • Examen
  • Établissement de rapports

4.1 Planification

L’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement lance un processus d’examen des pratiques d’approvisionnement lorsqu’il a des motifs raisonnables de le faire. Les sujets de l’examen et les organisations fédérales visées sont déterminés au moyen d’une planification stratégique en vue de l’examen des pratiques d’approvisionnement.

Lancement d’un processus d’examen des pratiques d’approvisionnement

L’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement lance un processus d’examen des pratiques d’approvisionnement en avisant l’administrateur général de l’organisation, par écrit, du sujet de l’examen et du point de contact du BOA. La lettre de notification demandera également la nomination d’un représentant de l’organisation et la transmission de ses coordonnées. L’organisation fédérale doit accuser réception de la lettre par écrit et fournir le nom et les coordonnées d’un représentant.

4.2 Examen

Pendant la phase d’examen, le BOA fera ce qui suit :

  • Rencontrer le ou les représentants.
  • Fournir le cadre de référence de l’examen.
  • Présenter des demandes de renseignements afin d’obtenir, par exemple, des données initiales pour la sélection des dossiers.
  • Examiner et analyser les documents, comme des politiques et des lignes directrices internes ainsi que des renseignements fournis par le personnel ministériel.
  • Choisir et examiner les dossiers ministériels.
  • Mener des entrevues avec le personnel.

Réunions et entrevues

Plusieurs réunions auront lieu pendant la phase d’examen. Une réunion initiale (réunion de lancement) aura lieu entre le ou les représentants de l’organisation et l’équipe d’examen du BOA afin de discuter du processus d’examen, du calendrier et du cadre de référence. Des réunions de suivi peuvent être organisées au besoin (voir tableau 1).

Tableau 1 – Réunions avec l’organisation visée par l’examen
Réunion Objectif Participants
Réunion de lancement Discuter des objectifs de l’examen, des dates importantes, des jalons et des attentes. Le ou les représentants de l’organisation et l’équipe d’examen du BOA
Entrevues Recueillir ou préciser des renseignements. Des membres du personnel de l’organisation (répondants choisis par le BOA) et l’équipe d’examen du BOA
Réunion(s) de suivi Recueillir ou préciser des renseignements. Le personnel de l’organisation devant fournir des renseignements et l’équipe d’examen du BOA

Demandes de renseignements et sélection des dossiers

La norme de fonctionnement du BOA consiste à examiner au moins 30 dossiers d’approvisionnements par organisation fédérale dans le cadre d’un examen des pratiques d’approvisionnement. Le BOA demandera des données initiales relatives aux approvisionnements afin d’établir une stratégie d’échantillonnage dans le cadre de l’examen. Les échantillons peuvent être choisis judicieusement ou au hasard, selon l’examen. Une fois les échantillons choisis par le BOA, le représentant de l’organisation sera informé par écrit des dossiers choisis et devra répondre aux demandes de renseignements en temps opportun.

4.3 Établissement de rapports

Pendant la phase d’établissement de rapports, le BOA fera ce qui suit :

  • Transmettre ses constatations préliminaires.
  • Formuler des recommandations appropriées
  • Fournir à l’organisation deux copies du rapport provisoire.

Conclusions préliminaires

Une fois que le BOA a terminé son analyse, il transmettra ses constatations préliminaires au représentant de l’organisation visée par l’examen. Les constatations préliminaires comprendront un résumé des résultats de l’analyse.

Recommandations

À la lumière des constatations tirées de l’analyse lors de la phase d’examen, l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement peut formuler des recommandations en vue d’améliorer l’équité, l’ouverture et la transparence des pratiques d’approvisionnement examinées. La version préliminaire des recommandations sera transmise à l’organisation visée par l’examen dans le premier rapport provisoire.

Rapports provisoires

Conformément à l’alinéa 5b) du Règlement, l’ombudsman :

permet au ministère dont les pratiques ont fait l’objet de l’examen de faire des commentaires sur les recommandations proposées et leurs motifs dans les 30 jours ouvrables suivant leur réception.

Le BOA fournit à l’organisation fédérale visée par l’examen deux occasions de formuler des commentaires au sujet du rapport provisoire et des recommandations proposées et de justifier ces derniers (voir tableau 2). Le premier rapport provisoire est envoyé au représentant de l’organisation avec une demande de commentaires. Le deuxième rapport provisoire est envoyé à l’administrateur général de l’organisation avec une demande de commentaires. De plus, le BOA ajoutera un tableau décrivant comment les commentaires reçus concernant le premier rapport provisoire ont été éliminés par le BOA. Si l’organisation ne répond pas dans les délais prescrits (voir tableau 2), le BOA conclura que l’organisation a refusé de formuler des commentaires.

Rapport final

Une copie du rapport final est fournie au ministre des Services publics et de l’Approvisionnement, conformément au paragraphe 6(1) du Règlement. Le BOA fournit également une copie du rapport final à l’administrateur général de l’organisation visée par l’examen au cours des cinq jours ouvrables suivant la publication du rapport. Tous les rapports d’examen des pratiques d’approvisionnement sont publiés en entier sur le site Web du BOA dans les deux langues officielles.

Tableau 2 – Jalons de l’établissement de rapports
Document Calendrier
1er rapport provisoire transmis au représentant de l’organisation Réponse dans les 20 jours ouvrables
2e rapport provisoire et tableau sur l’élimination des données transmis à l’administrateur général Réponse dans les 10 jours ouvrables
Rapport final transmis au ministre des Services publics et de l’Approvisionnement et à l’administrateur général de l’organisation visée par l’examen Rapport transmis 5 jours ouvrables avant sa publication

4.4 Examen de suivi des pratiques

Le BOA effectue un examen de suivi deux ans après que l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement a publié le rapport de l’examen des pratiques d’approvisionnement dans lequel des recommandations ont été formulées. L’objectif de cet examen de suivi est d’établir un rapport sur les progrès réalisés concernant les recommandations de l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement et les problèmes soulevés dans le cadre de l’examen.

L’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement lance un processus d’examen de suivi en avisant l’administrateur général de l’organisation par écrit. La lettre de notification détermine le point de contact du BOA, demande la nomination d’un représentant de l’organisation et la transmission de ses coordonnées et requiert des renseignements sur les progrès réalisés par l’organisation depuis la publication de l’examen des pratiques d’approvisionnement. L’organisation fédérale doit fournir une réponse par écrit. Le processus d’établissement de rapports est le même que celui de l’examen des pratiques d’approvisionnement (voir la section 4.3 Établissement de rapports).

5 Schéma de l’examen des pratiques l’approvisionnement

Schéma de l’examen des pratiques l’approvisionnement - Description plus détaillée ci-dessous
Description de l'image

Ceci est un schéma de l’examen des pratiques d’approvisionnement. Première phase : le BOA envoie une lettre de notification à l’administrateur du ministère. Le ministère accuse réception de la demande et fournit le nom du représentant du ministère. Deuxième phase : le BOA demande les données pour la sélection des dossiers ainsi que les documents ministériels. Le ministère fournit les documents demandés. Le BOA examine les données et demande par écrit les dossiers choisis. Le ministère fournit les dossiers et le BOA les examine. Troisième phase, élaboration des rapports : première ébauche du rapport transmis au ministère par le BOA pour ses commentaires. Commentaires fournis par le ministère dans un délai de 20 jours. Deuxième ébauche du rapport transmis à l’administrateur général et le ministère a 10 jours pour transmettre ses commentaires. Le rapport final est transmis à l’administrateur général 5 jours avant d’être publié sur le site web du BOA. Publication du rapport sur le site web du BOA. Examen de suivi (2 ans plus tard) : lettre de notification envoyée par le BOA à l’administrateur général et le ministère accuse réception et identifie sa personne contact. Mêmes étapes que l’élaboration du rapport seront répétées.