Our team

The Office of the Procurement Ombudsman's organizational structure

The Office of the Procurement Ombudsman's Organizational Structure – Description below
Image description

Procurement Ombudsman

Deputy Procurement Ombudsman

Procurement inquiries and reviews
  • Respond to inquiries and complaints
  • Investigate complaints
  • Provide alternative dispute resolution (ADR) services
  • Conduct studies and reviews on federal government contracting practices
Quality assurance and risk management
  • Monitor and share issues,trends and develoments in procurement
  • Ensure quality is built into all OPO processes and controls are in place to identify and responds risks
Communications and corporate management
  • Implement outreach activities to raise awareness of OPO's services
  • Produce communications products
  • Provide strategic and operational services which allow the office to run in a smooth and organized manner

The Executive team

Mr. Alexander Jeglic, Procurement Ombudsman

Alexander Jeglic

Mr. Alexander Jeglic has been named Procurement Ombudsman, effective April 3, 2018, for a 5 year term.

Alex is a lawyer by background and most recently served as General Counsel for PPP Canada Inc., a federal Crown Corporation, where he was involved in the procurement processes for large infrastructure projects. He previously held positions of increased responsibility in the United States and Canada including at the Canadian Commercial Corporation as Senior Legal Counsel and the Australian Trade Commission as Business Development Manager and International Trade Advisor in Washington (DC). Throughout Alex’s legal and professional career, he has focused primarily on procurement, contracting and dispute resolution which will serve him well as Procurement Ombudsman.

Alex graduated from Carleton University in Ottawa with a Bachelors of Art, Law with a concentration in Business Law in 2000. In 2001, Alex completed the Cornell Law School Paris Summer Institute program in international and comparative law and in 2003 completed a Juris Doctor (JD) degree from Loyola University Chicago School of Law in Chicago, Illinois with a certificate in International Law.

Alex has also been teaching procurement law at Carleton University since 2010. Alex and his wife Shelley have 4 children.

David Rabinovitch, Deputy Procurement Ombudsman

David Rabinovitch Mr. Rabinovitch has been a member of the Federal Public Service since 1998, and has over 24 years of private and public sector experience leading and managing teams.

Prior to joining the public sector, he lived and worked in the Kansai region of Japan for 5 years, first teaching English as a second language, and then founding a small company that developed curriculum and provided training to Japanese business executives in preparation for overseas postings.

Upon returning to Canada, Mr. Rabinovitch obtained Civil and Common Law degrees from McGill University in Montréal, and was called to the Bar of Ontario in 1998. Since joining the Federal Public Service, he has specialized in the areas of investment analysis, policy development, client service, financial management, strategic and business planning, and communications.

Mr. Rabinovitch previously worked at the Office of the Procurement Ombudsman (OPO) as the Director of Communications and Corporate Management, prior to joining the Department of Fisheries and Oceans as Senior Director of National Portfolio Strategy.  He rejoined OPO as Deputy Procurement Ombudsman in April 2017.

Margherita Finn, Director, Procurement Inquiries and Reviews

Margherita Finn Margherita joined the Public Service in 1990 and has spent all of her career at Public Services and Procurement Canada (PSPC), with the exception of 9 month period when she joined the Office of the Procurement Ombudsman (OPO) to help set-up its operations in 2007.

Over the past 25 years Margherita has held various positions at PSPC. She spent 15 years as a procurement officer buying goods and services and selling ammunition and aircrafts to foreign governments. Margherita was a senior Risk Analyst to PSPC's first Chief Risk Officer, and a principal auditor in the Office of Audit and Evaluation. Prior to returning to OPO in April 2014, Margherita was the Director of the Special Investigations Directorate, responsible for conducting administrative investigations into allegations of wrongdoing, impropriety and mismanagement in PSPC.

Eimer Sim, Director, Quality Assurance and Risk Management

Eimer Sim Having joined the Federal Public Service in 1998, Eimer's public sector experience has focused mostly in the areas of internal and external auditing.

Prior to joining the Office of the Procurement Ombudsman in April 2012, Eimer was the Director of Quality Assessment and Strategic Issues in Public Services and Procurement Canada's Office of Audit and Evaluation. Previously, she held various positions at the Office of the Auditor General of Canada over the course of 10 years.

Throughout her career, Eimer has been involved in the development of publicly available reports focused on areas for improvement in government operations and performance. Key components of these reports were action-oriented and practical recommendations aimed at correcting systemic issues.

Eimer holds a Bachelor of Arts degree in Economics and a Master of Arts degree in Public Policy and Administration from Concordia University in Montréal.

Anik Trépanier, Director, Communications and Corporate Management

Anik Trépanier Anik joined Public Services and Procurement Canada in late 2000, starting in what was then called Government Telecommunications and Informatics Services (GTIS), a predecessor to the Chief Information Officer Branch. She held progressively more challenging positions, and, in 2006, joined the Deputy Minister's (DM) Office as a Strategic Advisor. After 18 months there, she went on to manage the Ministers' Regional Offices Program until she got another call from the Deputy Minister's Office, this time, to become the DM's Chief of Staff. This unique opportunity lasted three-and-a-half years, after which time she joined the newly created National Fighter Procurement Secretariat, looking at the acquisition process that will be used to replace the CF-18 fleet. In late 2013, Anik returned to a corporate function, leading the Business Planning and Management Services of the Policy, Planning and Communications Branch until June 2016, where she joined the Office of the Procurement Ombudsman as the Director, Communications and Corporate Management.

Date modified:

Notre équipe

Structure organisationnelle du Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement

Structure organisationnelle du Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement – Description ci-dessous
Description de l'image

Ombudsman de l'approvisionnement

Ombudsman adjoint de l'approvisionnement

Renseignements et examens
  • Répondre aux demandes de rendeignements et aux plaintes
  • Enquêter sur les plaintes
  • Offrir des services de règlement extrajudiciaire des différends (RED)
  • Réaliser des études et des examens sur les pratiques gouvernementales en matière de passation de contrats
Assurance de la qualité et gestion des risques
  • Surveiller et communiquer les questions, les tendances et l'évolution en matière d'approvisionnement
  • Veiller à ce que la qualité fasse partie intégrante de tous les processus du BOA et que des contrôles soient en place pour identifier les risques et y réagir
Communication et gestion ministérielle
  • Réaliser des activités visant à faire connaître les services du BOA
  • Créer des produits de communication
  • Offrir des services opérationnel et stratégiques qui permettent au bureau de bien fonctionner de mannière homogène et organisée

L'équipe de gestion

M. Alexander Jeglic, Ombudsman de l'approvisionnement

Alexander Jeglic

M. Alexander Jeglic a été nommé ombudsman de l'approvisionnement. Cette nomination prendra effet le 3 avril 2018 pour un mandat de 5 ans.

Alex est un avocat de formation et a récemment assumé les fonctions d'avocat général chez PPP Canada Inc., une société d'État fédérale, où il a participé aux processus d'approvisionnement liés à de grands projets d'infrastructure. Alex a occupé des postes aux responsabilités de plus en plus importantes aux États Unis et au Canada, notamment à la Corporation commerciale canadienne à titre d'avocat conseil principal et à la Commission australienne du commerce, à Washington, D.C., à titre de directeur du développement des affaires et de conseiller en commerce international. Tout au long de sa carrière juridique, Alex s'est surtout concentré sur l'approvisionnement, la passation de marchés et le règlement de différends, ce qui lui sera grandement utile à titre d'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement.

En 2000, Alex a obtenu un baccalauréat en arts (droit) avec concentration en droit des affaires de l'Université Carleton, à Ottawa. En 2001, il a terminé le programme Paris Summer Institute en droit international et en droit comparé de l'École de droit Cornell. En 2003, il a obtenu un doctorat en droit (J.D.) avec certificat en droit international de l'École de droit Chicago de l'Université Loyola, à Chicago, en Illinois.

De plus, Alex enseigne le droit de l'approvisionnement à l'Université Carleton depuis 2010. Alex et son épouse Shelley ont 4 enfants.

David Rabinovitch, ombudsman adjoint de l'approvisionnement

David Rabinovitch M. David Rabinovitch occupe un poste au sein de la fonction publique fédérale depuis 1998. Il possède plus de 24 années d'expérience en gestion d'équipes, acquise dans les secteurs privé et public.

Avant de se joindre à la fonction publique, il a vécu pendant 5 ans dans la région du Kansai, au Japon, où il a d'abord été professeur d'anglais langue seconde. Il y a ensuite fondé une petite entreprise qui mettait au point des programmes d'enseignement et offrait de la formation aux cadres japonais en préparation de leur affectation à l'étranger.

À son retour au Canada, M. Rabinovitch a obtenu un Baccalauréat en droit civil et un Baccalauréat en common law de l'Université McGill, à Montréal. Il a été admis au Barreau de l'Ontario en 1998. Depuis qu'il a joint les rangs de la fonction publique fédérale, il s'est spécialisé dans l'analyse des investissements, le développement des politiques, les services aux clients, les finances, la planification stratégique et ministérielle,  et les communications. David a été directeur principal de la Stratégie nationale du portefeuille à Pêches et Océans Canada et directeur de la Planification et des services de gestion, de la Direction générale de la surveillance de Services publics et Approvisionnements Canada.

M. Rabinovitch a œuvré  au sein du Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement  en tant que directeur des Communications et gestion ministérielle, avant qu’il soit directeur principal de la Stratégie nationale du portefeuille à Pêches et Océans Canada.Il a rejoint le BOA à titre d'ombudsman adjoint de l'approvisionnement en avril 2017.

Margherita Finn, directrice, renseignements et examens d'approvisionnement

Margherita Finn Margherita s'est jointe à la fonction publique en 1990 et a travaillé à Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) toute sa carrière, à l'exception de 9 mois, alors qu'elle s'est jointe au Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement (BOA) pour participer au lancement de ses activités, en 2007.

Au cours des 25 dernières années, Margherita a occupé divers postes à SPAC; pendant 15 ans, elle a travaillé à l'acquisition de biens et de services et s'est occupé de la vente de munitions et d'avions à des gouvernements étrangers à titre d'agent d'approvisionnement. Margherita a été analyste principale des risques pour le premier agent principal de gestion des risques de SPAC et vérificatrice principale au Bureau de la vérification et de l'évaluation. Avant de revenir au BOA en avril 2014, Margherita a occupé le poste de directrice de la Direction des enquêtes spéciales, où elle était chargée de mener des enquêtes administratives relativement à des allégations d'actes répréhensibles ou inconvenants, et de mauvaise gestion à SPAC.

Eimer Sim, directrice, assurance de la qualité et gestion des risques

Eimer Sim Fonctionnaire fédérale depuis 1998, Eimer s'est spécialisée dans le domaine de la vérification interne et externe.

Avant de se joindre au Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement en avril 2012, Eimer était directrice de la division Évaluation de la qualité et enjeux stratégiques, du Bureau de la vérification et de l'évaluation de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada. Auparavant, elle a occupé pendant 10 ans divers postes au Bureau du vérificateur général du Canada.

Tout au long de sa carrière, Eimer a participé à l'élaboration de rapports mis à la disposition du public, qui mettaient l'accent sur les améliorations à apporter aux opérations et au rendement du gouvernement. Les éléments clés de ces rapports consistaient à formuler des recommandations pratiques, axées sur la correction des problèmes systémiques.

Eimer détient un Baccalauréat ès arts en économie et une Maîtrise ès arts en politique publique et administration de l'Université Concordia, à Montréal.

Anik Trépanier, directrice, communications et gestion ministérielle

Anik Trépanier Anik a débuté sa carrière au ministère des Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC) à la fin de l'année 2000 aux Services gouvernementaux de télécommunications et d'informatique, le prédécesseur de la Direction générale du Dirigeant principal de l'information. Occupant de plus en plus des postes de responsabilité, elle rejoindra le bureau du sous-ministre de SPAC en 2006 à titre de conseillère stratégique. 18 mois plus tard, Anik devenait gestionnaire du programme des Bureaux régionaux des ministres jusqu'à ce qu'elle revienne au bureau du sous-ministre, cette fois comme Chef de cabinet. Après 3 ans et demi à ce poste exigeant, elle s'est jointe au nouveau Secrétariat national sur l'approvisionnement des avions de chasse, mis en place pour revoir le processus d'acquisition des avions qui remplaceront la flotte aérienne des CF-18. Vers la fin 2013, Anik est retourné dans un poste de gestion ministérielle pour diriger le Service de planification des affaires ministérielles de la Direction générale des Communications, de la planification et des politiques jusqu'en juin 2016, où elle s'est jointe au Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement comme Directrice des communications et gestion ministérielle.

Date de modification :