Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) - Frequently Asked Questions

What is alternative dispute resolution?

Alternative dispute resolution (ADR) is a confidential and voluntary process in which a neutral third person assists parties involved in a dispute to resolve issues. ADR provides an alternative to litigation that is both less costly and time consuming. As ADR is also non-confrontational, it can restore and help preserve business relationships.

The Office of the Procurement Ombudsman offers ADR services for contractual disputes regarding the interpretation or application of a contract's terms and conditions.

Who can request OPO ADR services?

According to the Procurement Ombudsman Regulations, a party to a contract - the supplier or the federal government organization - can make a request for an ADR process.

Are there costs associated with OPO ADR services?

There are no costs associated with OPO providing ADR services. In instances where OPO is asked to provide services outside of the office, there might be expenses related to travel, conference/meeting room rentals, or other miscellaneous costs. In this case, the parties to the contract are responsible for these expenses.

How can I submit a request for OPO ADR services?

OPO encourages suppliers and federal organizations to contact us, by calling our toll-free number at 1-866-734-5169 or via email at opo-boa@opo-boa.gc.ca, prior to submitting a request.

OPO always encourages the parties to try to resolve their issues themselves. If the parties cannot resolve the dispute and wish to participate in a dispute resolution process, a request must be provided in writing to OPO. To access an ADR request form, please visit the Request for Alternative Dispute Resolution-Overview page. You can submit a request for ADR online, by fax at 613-947-9800 or by mail or in person at the following address:

Office of the Procurement Ombudsman
Constitution Square
340 Albert St., Suite 1150
Ottawa, Ontario
K1R 7Y6

What happens after I submit a request for ADR services?

Once a written request for ADR services is received, the request and supporting documentation are reviewed. The Office has ten working days to determine if the request falls within OPO's mandate to provide ADR and, if it does, to invite the other party to the contract to participate in an ADR process. Please note a copy of your request and any supporting documents submitted will be provided to the other party at this time.

The other party then has ten working days to respond. If the other party agrees to participate, the Office will prepare a proposal for an ADR process. The ADR proposal will outline what participants can expect from the process and include such information as the logistics (place, time, etc.), the parties to the dispute and the issues in dispute. OPO will then send the proposal to both parties for approval.

Once all parties agree on the proposal, OPO sets-up a meeting where facilitation/mediation services will be provided.

If one of the parties does not agree to participate, the Office cannot proceed as this is a voluntary process.

How does the Office of the Procurement Ombudsman conduct ADR?

Once both parties agree to participate in an ADR process regarding the interpretation or application of a contract's terms and conditions, the Office provides independent ADR services. Taking into consideration all elements of the dispute, OPO will offer the parties an ADR process that is best suited to their needs. Both facilitation and mediation services are offered by OPO's professionally trained and certified ADR facilitators and mediators. These services are available with no charge to the parties and whenever possible the process is conducted on-site at OPO's office.

OPO's dispute resolution services offer an opportunity for parties to come together in a neutral setting to participate in open and constructive dialogue facilitated or mediated by an unbiased OPO certified staff. During facilitation or mediation, both parties to the contract are given an opportunity to explain their view of the situation and discuss their dispute, issues and interests. The goal is to allow the parties to generate options to reach a mutually-agreeable solution; if an agreement is reached, both parties sign a legally binding agreement.

Discussions are without-prejudice and participation is voluntary, meaning both parties have to agree to participate and parties can end their participation at anytime. Accordingly, there is no risk involved in participating in an ADR process.

If you have any questions, do not hesitate to call us, toll free, at 1-866-734-5169.

Règlement extrajudiciaire des différends (RED) - Foire aux questions

Qu'est-ce que le règlement extrajudiciaire des différends?

Le règlement extrajudiciaire des différends (RED) est un processus confidentiel et volontaire conçu pour régler les différends avec l'aide d'une tierce partie neutre. Le processus de RED offre une solution de rechange aux litiges, lesquels peuvent être longs et onéreux. Un processus de règlement extrajudiciaire des différends se veut également une approche sans confrontation, de sorte qu'il peut permet de rétablir ou de préserver les relations de travail.

Le Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement offre des services de RED dans le cadre des différends contractuels visant l'interprétation ou l'application des modalités d'un contrat.

Qui peut présenter une demande de RED auprès du BOA?

Selon le Règlement concernant l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement, les parties à un contrat - le fournisseur ou l'organisation fédérale - peuvent présenter une demande de RED.

Y a-t-il des coûts liés au processus de règlement des différends?

Il n'y a aucun coût associé aux services de RED offerts par le BOA. Dans les cas où le BOA doit fournir des services à l'extérieur de ses bureaux, il pourrait y avoir des dépenses liées aux déplacements, à la location de salles de réunion et/ou de conférence ou à d'autres coûts divers. Dans de tels cas, ces frais devront être assumés par les parties contractantes.

Comment puis-je présenter une demande pour régler mon différend contractuel?

Le BOA encourage les fournisseurs et les organisations fédérales à communiquer avec lui par téléphone, sans frais, au 1-866-734-5169, ou par courriel à boa-opo@boa-opo.gc.ca, avant de soumettre une demande.

En outre, le BOA encourage toujours les parties à tenter de régler leur différend entre elles. Si les parties ne parviennent pas à s'entendre et souhaitent avoir recours à un processus de RED, elles doivent en faire officiellement la demande par écrit. Pour obtenir un formulaire de demande de RED allez à la page Soumettre une demande de règlement de différends contractuels – Survol. Les parties peuvent soumettre une demande de RED en ligne, par télécopieur au 613-947-9800, ou encore, par courrier ou en personne à l'adresse suivante :

Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement
Édifice Constitution Square
340, rue Albert, bureau 1150
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0K9

Une fois ma demande de RED soumise, quelles sont les prochaines étapes?

Une fois qu'une demande de services de RED a été reçue par écrit, le BOA examine la demande et la documentation à l'appui. Le Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement dispose de dix jours ouvrables pour déterminer si la demande est bien visée par son mandat d'offrir des services de RED et, le cas échéant, pour inviter l'autre partie au contrat à y participer. Veuillez noter qu'une copie de la demande et des documents à l'appui soumis seront transmis à l'autre partie à ce moment-là.

L'autre partie dispose par la suite de dix jours ouvrables pour répondre à l'invitation. Si l'autre partie convient de participer au processus, le BOA prépare alors une proposition visant un processus de RED. Celle-ci soulignera ce à quoi les participants peuvent s'attendre du processus et comprendra la logistique connexe (endroit, date et heure, etc.), le nom des parties impliquées et les enjeux visés. Le BOA fera ensuite parvenir la proposition aux deux parties à des fins d'approbation.

Une fois que toutes les parties ont accepté la proposition, le BOA organisera une rencontre où des services de facilitation et/ou de médiation seront offerts.

Si l'une des parties refuse de participer au processus de RED, le BOA ne peut donner suite à la demande puisque le processus est volontaire.

Comment le Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement procède-t-il?

Une fois que les deux parties ont accepté de participer à un processus de RED concernant l'interprétation ou l'application des modalités d'un contrat, le BOA offre des services indépendants de RED. Le BOA tient compte de tous les aspects du différend et offre aux parties le processus le mieux adapté à leurs besoins. Des services de facilitation et de médiation sont offerts par les facilitateurs et les médiateurs professionnels et certifiés du BOA. Ces services sont disponibles sans frais pour les parties et, dans la mesure du possible, le processus est mené sur place au bureau du BOA

Les services de RED du BOA offrent aux parties l'occasion de se rencontrer dans un environnement neutre pour participer à un dialogue ouvert et constructif dans le cadre duquel des services de facilitation ou de médiation sont offerts par un employé neutre et certifié du Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement. Que ce soit pendant la facilitation ou la médiation, les deux parties au contrat ont l'occasion d'expliquer leur point de vue sur la situation et de discuter de leurs différends, des enjeux et de leurs intérêts. Le processus vise à permettre aux parties de générer des options pour parvenir à une solution mutuellement bénéfique; si on parvient à un accord, les deux parties signent une entente ayant force obligatoire.

Les discussions ne portent pas atteinte aux parties et la participation est volontaire, ce qui signifie que les deux parties doivent accepter de participer au processus de RED et qu'elles peuvent annuler leur participation à tout moment. Par conséquent, la participation au processus de RED ne représente aucun risque.

Pour toute question, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous par le biais de notre ligne sans frais au numéro suivant : 1-866-734-5169.