The Ombudsman

Mr. Lorenzo Ieraci, Interim Procurement Ombudsman

Lorenzo Ieraci was appointed as Interim Procurement Ombudsman effective May 9, 2016. His appointment is for one year or until a new Procurement Ombudsman is named.

Lorenzo has been with the Office of the Procurement Ombudsman (OPO) since January 2012 as the Deputy Procurement Ombudsman. In that role he was responsible for managing OPO's daily operations, which include reviewing supplier complaints regarding the award or administration of contracts, reviewing departmental procurement practices, providing alternative dispute resolution (ADR) services, and responding to procurement-related inquiries.

Lorenzo considers himself fortunate to be part of a team of dedicated employees who work with private sector suppliers and federal organizations to promote fairness, openness and transparency in federal procurement.

Having joined the Federal Public Service in 1999, Lorenzo has held a number of positions in varied organizations. He began his career at Public Safety Canada, and then worked extensively at the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat as both a Senior Program Analyst and as the Manager of the Learning and Knowledge Management unit. Prior to joining OPO, Lorenzo was a Senior Director at Public Works and Government Services Canada where he was responsible for managing a national team of criminal forensic accountants.

Lorenzo holds a Master's degree in Public Policy and Public Administration from Concordia University, and obtained an Executive Certificate in Conflict Management from the University of Windsor's Faculty of Law.

Lorenzo is happily married with two children. His wife and children keep him grounded by, among other things, reminding him that he's "not really that funny". Lorenzo enjoys reading, doing non-strenuous exercises, and routinely losing to his children in videogames.

L'ombudsman

M. Lorenzo Ieraci, Ombudsman de l'approvisionnement par interim

Lorenzo Ieraci a été nommé ombudsman de l'approvisionnement par intérim le 9 mai 2016. Sa nomination est en vigueur pour un an ou jusqu'à ce qu'un ou une ombudsman de l'approvisionnement soit nommé.

M. Ieraci s'est joint au Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement (BOA) en janvier 2012 à titre d'ombudsman adjoint de l'approvisionnement. Dans ce rôle, il était responsable de gérer les activités quotidiennes du BOA, ce qui consistait notamment à examiner les plaintes des fournisseurs concernant l'attribution ou l'administration de contrats, à examiner les pratiques d'approvisionnement des ministères, à fournir des services de règlement extrajudiciaire des différends (RED) et à répondre à des demandes de renseignements liées à l'approvisionnement.

M. Ieraci s'estime très chanceux de faire partie d'une équipe d'employés dévoués qui travaillent en étroite collaboration avec les fournisseurs du secteur privé et les représentants des organisations fédérales de manière à promouvoir l'équité, l'ouverture et la transparence du processus d'approvisionnement du gouvernement du Canada.

M. Ieraci a occupé plusieurs postes dans diverses organisations depuis qu'il s'est joint à la fonction publique en 1999. Il a commencé sa carrière à Sécurité publique Canada. Par la suite, il a acquis une vaste expérience au Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, en tant qu'analyste principal de programmes et gestionnaire de l'apprentissage et de la gestion du savoir. Avant de se joindre au BOA, M. Ieraci était un directeur principal à Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada, responsable d'une équipe nationale d'experts juricomptables en droit criminel.

M. Ieraci détient une maîtrise en politique publique et en administration publique de l'Université Concordia et il a obtenu un certificat exécutif en gestion des conflits de la Faculté de droit de l'Université de Windsor.

M. Ieraci est marié et père de deux enfants. Sa femme et ses enfants l'aident à rester bien ancré dans la réalité, en lui rappelant, entre autres, qu'il est n'est « pas si drôle que ça ». M. Ieraci aime la lecture, les exercices peu exigeants et laisser ses enfants gagner à des parties de jeux vidéo.