Frequently asked questions on how to make a complaint

1. How can I make a complaint?

Prior to making a complaint, you are encouraged to try to resolve the issue with the relevant government organization. If dealing directly with the organization proves to be unproductive or you do not feel comfortable contacting the organization, contact us and it will be our pleasure to walk you through the complaint submission process.

If you do not need to speak to us and want to submit a complaint form, please visit the Submitting a complaint page. You will need to provide the following information:

  • Name and address of the complainant
  • Information identifying the contract to which the complaint relates (contract number, dollar value, description of the good or service and date the contract was awarded)
  • The name of the contracting organization and, if applicable, the organization for which the materiel or services are intended under the contract to which the complaint relates
  • A statement of the complaint, clearly setting out the facts and grounds on which the complaint is based
  • Consent to contact the organization
  • A declaration that:
    • The facts and grounds on which this complaint is based are not and have not been the subject of an inquiry before the Canadian International Trade Tribunal or a proceeding in a court of competent jurisdiction
    • The complainant has been awarded the contract to which this complaint relates
  • A declaration certifying the information provided herein is to the best of the complainant's knowledge true, accurate and complete.

Once you have filed a complaint, we will assess the complaint against the Procurement Ombudsman Regulations to determine, within 10 working days, whether or not we can review the complaint.

We are required by the Regulations to notify the complainant and department of our decision. We are also required to provide the department with a copy of the complaint and all document(s) you provide regardless of whether or not we review the complaint.

Should you need assistance to submit a complaint form, please contact us by calling our toll-free number (1-866-734-5169) or via email at opo-boa@opo-boa.gc.ca; we are here to help.

2. What types of complaints can the Ombudsman review?

The Procurement Ombudsman will assess all procurement issues brought to the Office's attention in accordance with the Procurement Ombudsman Regulations, and will review complaints that meet specific regulatory criteria, including:

  • Complainant is a Canadian supplier
  • Complaint is filed in writing, within prescribed timeframes
  • For a complaint regarding the award of a contract, the value is less than $26,400 for goods or less than $105,700 for services. For a complaint regarding the administration of a contract, there is no dollar threshold

In cases where the interpretation or application of the terms and conditions of the contract, or the scope of work of the contract, are in dispute between yourself and a federal organization, we can provide an alternative dispute resolution service if both parties are willing to participate.

3. I have a procurement issue but I am not sure I want to file a complaint, what should I do?

If you want to be sure you have a procurement issue that can be submitted as a complaint, answer the following:

  • I am a supplier with a place of business in Canada
  • My issue occurred after May 5, 2008
  • My issue is regarding the award of a federal contract below $26,400 for goods or below $105,700 for services

If you answered yes to all of these questions we may be able to launch a review. You are encouraged to contact us via our toll-free number (1-866-734-5169) to discuss the issue; we are here to help.

If you answered no to any of these questions you are still encouraged to inform us of your issue, as it could highlight a systemic issue that is of interest to the Ombudsman and could form part of our plans to conduct procurement practice reviews of federal organizations.

4. What can I expect when I call the Office of the Procurement Ombudsman?

The Office is based on a "service first" business model and is committed to offering prompt, personalized and seamless service to suppliers who contact us.

When suppliers contact us, they can expect to deal with one person throughout their communications with the Office. When calling OPO's toll-free number, suppliers can expect to either talk to someone directly or leave a message, which will be returned within 24 hours. The OPO team member who responds to you will be responsible to assist you for the duration of your case.

As one of our primary functions is to understand your concerns and find ways to de-escalate issues, the OPO team member will:

  • Listen and clarify your issue(s)
  • Provide you with general information on federal procurement
  • Provide you with options to consider
  • If you have not submitted a written complaint, with your written consent, contact the federal organization you have been dealing with to facilitate open and constructive dialogue

The Office's business model encourages suppliers and departments to discuss issues in an open and straightforward manner. We see our role as guiding suppliers and departments through issues based on an understanding of their respective requirements and concerns. The aim of this approach is to facilitate effective resolution of issues in a quick and cost-effective manner.

By contacting us, you are not committed to filing a complaint. You have the discretion to abandon the issue at any time until you submit a written complaint. Should you choose to proceed and file a complaint, we will determine within 10 working days whether or not we can review the complaint. We are required to notify the complainant and department of our decision. We are also required to provide the department with a copy of the complaint and any document(s) you provided whether or not we review the complaint.

5. Who may file a complaint?

A supplier that has a place of business in Canada.

6. Where should I send my complaint?

To access a complaint form, please visit the Submitting a complaint page. You can submit a complaint form online, by fax at 613-947-6211 or by mail or in person at the following address:

Office of the Procurement Ombudsman
400-410 Laurier Avenue W
Ottawa ON  K1R IB7

If you have any questions, do not hesitate to call us at 1-866-734-5169.

7. Should I file my complaint with the Office of the Procurement Ombudsman or the Canadian International Trade Tribunal?

  • OPO can review complaints about certain contracts valued below $26,400 (for goods) and $105,700 (for services), and the CITT can review complaints about certain contracts valued at or above these dollar thresholds
  • There are strict timelines (deadlines) in place for filing complaints with both OPO and the CITT
  • To help ensure that suppliers don’t miss those deadlines, OPO’s online Complaint Form allows suppliers to authorize OPO to share some information from the complaint with the CITT, so the CITT can contact suppliers to determine if the complaint should be filed with the CITT
  • If you consent to OPO sharing information from your complaint with the CITT, only the following information will be shared:
  • The CITT’s complaint form also allows suppliers to authorize the CITT to share information from a complaint to the CITT with OPO, so OPO can contact suppliers to determine if the complaint should be filed with OPO
  • OPO and the CITT provide this service to help make sure your complaint is raised to the appropriate body in the timeliest manner possible
  • Should you need assistance or have any questions, please contact us by calling our toll-free number (1-866-734-5169) or via email at opo-boa@opo-boa.gc.ca

8. Are there time restrictions to filing a complaint?

In the case of contract award, you have 30 working days after public notice of the award of the contract to file a written complaint with OPO. If there was no public notice, you have 30 working days after the day on which you become aware, or should have become aware, of the award of the contract. In the case of contract administration, you have 30 working days after the day on which you become aware, or should have become aware, of the issues on which the complaint is based.

To access a complaint form, please visit the Submitting a complaint page. You can submit a complaint form online, by fax at 613-947-6211 or by mail or in person at the following address:

Office of the Procurement Ombudsman
400-410 Laurier Avenue W
Ottawa ON  K1R IB7

9. Are there costs associated with filing complaints?

There is no charge for filing or handling a written complaint.

10. What happens after I make a complaint?

Once we have received all of the necessary written information and documents from you, we are required to assess the information to determine if the complaint falls within the regulatory parameters that govern the activities of our Office.

If the assessment determines your complaint can be reviewed, we will advise you of the launch of the review and keep you informed of how the review is proceeding. Once the review is complete, you will receive a copy of the report with our finding(s) and recommendation(s). A summary of our reports are made available to the public on our website. Consistent with the requirements of the Procurement Ombudsman Regulations, a copy of the report is provided to the Minister of Public Services and Procurement and the responsible Minister. A courtesy copy is also provided to the Deputy Head of the implicated federal department or agency.

If your complaint cannot be reviewed, we will inform you in writing and explain why and we will try to provide you with options for consideration. For example, if the contract in question is valued at or above $26,400 for goods or $105,700 for services, we will do our best to provide you the appropriate contacts that may be in a better position to assist you.

Our Office will advise you and the implicated department of our decision on whether or not to review the complaint within ten working days of receiving all the required information. We are also required to provide the department with a copy of the complaint and all associated documents you provided whether or not we review the complaint.

If there is an issue related to the interpretation or application of the terms and conditions of your contract with a federal organization, we may be able to provide our alternative dispute resolution service.

Once the investigation is completed, OPO submits the review of the complaint report, including findings, to the supplier, the minister of the federal organization and the minister of Public Services and Procurement. To improve efficiency and timeliness and ensure environmentally responsible operations, OPO will no longer send paper copies of investigation reports by traditional mail. Complainants and federal organizations will receive written reports as PDF attachments via email only. If there are technological limitations that prevent the viewing of PDF documents, please contact OPO and alternate delivery options will be provided.

The report will then be posted on OPO’s website and will be referenced in the Procurement Ombudsman’s Annual Report. The name of the complainant will not be published, however the name of the federal organization will be identified in the report.

11. Can someone submit a complaint on my behalf?

A written complaint can be submitted on your behalf.  In instances where the online complaint form is being used, the individual will have to indicate, where prompted, that they are filing a complaint on your behalf. If the written complaint is being submitted by mail, fax or in person, the authorized official filing the complaint will have to provide their signature on the original complaint form.

12. Will the Ombudsman contact the department(s) I have issues with?

If you have raised federal contracting issues with us (either by telephone, in person or via our website), we will contact the organization in order to address the issues after receiving your written permission.

If you have filed, or once you have filed, a written complaint we will determine within 10 working days whether or not we can review the complaint. We are required to notify the complainant and department of our decision. We are also required by the Procurement Ombudsman Regulations to provide the department with a copy of the complaint and all associated document(s) regardless of whether or not we review the complaint.

13. Will my name or company name be disclosed to the department?

When you come to us with federal contracting issues, and have not yet filed a written complaint, we will not contact the department or disclose your name / company name without your written permission.

Once you have filed a written complaint, we will determine within 10 working days whether or not we can review the complaint. We are required to notify the complainant and department of our decision. We are also required to provide the department with a copy of the complaint document(s) whether or not we review the complaint.

14. Can the Ombudsman cancel or modify contracts?

No, the Procurement Ombudsman does not have the authority to cancel or change the terms and conditions of contracts.

15. Can the Ombudsman impose sanctions, penalties or remedies where departments are found to have not followed the rules?

No, but the Procurement Ombudsman can recommend a department compensate a supplier for complaints regarding the award of a contract. The Procurement Ombudsman considers several factors when deciding whether compensation is appropriate, including:

  • Whether the complainant submitted a bid or was prevented from doing so
  • The likelihood that the complainant would have been awarded the contract if it were not for the actions of the department
  • The degree to which the complainant was prejudiced during the bidding process

Dépôt d'une plainte

  1. Comment puis-je déposer une plainte?
  2. Sur quels types de plaintes l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement peut-il enquêter?
  3. J'ai un problème en ce qui a trait à l'approvisionnement, mais je ne sais pas si je dois déposer une plainte. Que dois-je faire?
  4. À quoi dois-je m'attendre lorsque je communique avec le Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement?
  5. Qui peut déposer une plainte auprès de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement?
  6. Où dois-je envoyer ma plainte?
  7. Y a-t-il un délai à respecter pour le dépôt d'une plainte?
  8. Qu'en coûte-t-il pour déposer une plainte auprès de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement?
  9. Qu'arrive-t-il après le dépôt de ma plainte?
  10. Une autre personne peut-elle déposer une plainte en mon nom?
  11. L'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement communiquera-t-il avec le ou les ministères concernés?
  12. Mon nom ou le nom de mon entreprise seront-ils communiqués au ministère concerné?
  13. L'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement peut-il annuler ou modifier des contrats?
  14. L'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement peut-il imposer des sanctions, des pénalités ou des redressements lorsqu'il est prouvé que les ministères n'ont pas respecté les règles?

1. Comment puis-je déposer une plainte?

Avant de déposer une plainte, nous vous invitons à tenter de régler le problème avec l'organisation fédérale concernée. Si le fait de traiter directement avec l'organisation ne donne aucun résultat ou que vous ne vous sentez pas à l'aise de communiquer directement avec celle-ci, communiquez avec nous et nous vous accompagnerons avec plaisir tout au long du processus de dépôt de la plainte.

Si vous n'avez pas besoin de communiquer avec nous et que vous souhaitez nous soumettre un formulaire de plainte, allez à la page Déposer une plainte – Survol. Vous devrez fournir les renseignements suivants :

  • Le nom et l'adresse du plaignant.
  • Des renseignements permettant de déterminer le contrat visé par la plainte (numéro de référence du contrat, valeur monétaire, description des biens et/ou services et date à laquelle le contrat a été attribué).
  • Le nom de l'organisation contractante et, le cas échéant, l'organisation pour laquelle le matériel ou les services sont acquis dans le cadre du contrat visé par la plainte.
  • Une description de la plainte, précisant clairement les faits et les motifs qui ont donné lieu à la plainte.
  • Votre consentement à ce que nous communiquions avec l'organisation concernée.
  • Une déclaration :
    • selon laquelle les faits et les enjeux qui ont donné lieu à la plainte ne font pas ou n'ont pas fait l'objet d'une enquête du Tribunal canadien du commerce extérieur ou de poursuites devant le tribunal d'une administration compétente;
    • selon laquelle le plaignant est bien le titulaire du contrat visé par la plainte.
  • Une déclaration attestant que les renseignements contenus dans la plainte sont, selon les meilleures connaissances de l'entreprise, véridiques, précis et complets.

Une fois votre plainte déposée, nous l'évaluerons par rapport au Règlement concernant l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement afin de déterminer dans un délai de dix (10) jours ouvrables si nous pouvons ou non l'examiner.

Conformément au Règlement concernant l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement (Règlement), nous devons informer le plaignant et le ministère de notre décision. Nous sommes aussi dans l'obligation de fournir au ministère une copie de la plainte et de tous les documents que vous nous avez soumis, que nous étudiions la plainte ou non.

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour soumettre un formulaire de plainte, veuillez communiquer avec nous par téléphone en composant sans frais le 1-866-734-5169, ou encore par courriel à l'adresse boa-opo@boa-opo.gc.ca.

2. Sur quels types de plaintes l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement peut-il examiner?

L'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement évaluera toutes les questions liées à l'approvisionnement qui sont portées à l'attention du BOA, conformément au Règlement concernant l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement, et il examinera les plaintes qui répondent aux critères réglementaires suivants :

  • L'attribution d'un contrat visant l'acquisition de biens dont la valeur est inférieure à 25 000 $ et des services dont la valeur est inférieure à 100 000 $.
  • La gestion d'un contrat qui a été attribué à votre entreprise, peu importe la valeur monétaire de celui-ci.

Dans les cas où un différend survient entre vous et une organisation fédérale au sujet de l'interprétation ou l'application des modalités d'un contrat, ou encore sur la portée des travaux au contrat, nous pouvons vous offrir un service de règlement extrajudiciaire des différents si vous, ainsi que l'organisation fédérale, acceptez d'y participer.

3. J'ai un problème en ce qui a trait à l'approvisionnement, mais je ne sais pas si je dois déposer une plainte. Que dois-je faire?

Si vous souhaitez vous assurer que votre problème lié à l'approvisionnement peut faire l'objet d'une plainte, vous pouvez répondre aux questions suivantes :

  • Je suis un fournisseur ayant un établissement au Canada.
  • Mon problème est survenu après le 5 mai 2008.
  • Mon problème vise l'attribution d'un contrat dont la valeur est inférieure à 25 000 $ pour des biens ou inférieure à 100 000 $ pour des services.

Si vous avez répondu oui à toutes ces questions, nous pourrions être en mesure de mener un examen. Nous vous incitons à communiquer avec nous par téléphone en composant notre numéro sans frais (1-866-734-5169) pour en discuter; nous sommes là pour vous aider.

Si vous avez répondu non à l'une ou à toutes ces questions, nous vous invitons tout de même à nous informer de votre problème; en effet, il pourrait s'agir d'un problème systémique auquel s'intéresse le BOA et qui pourrait faire partie de nos plans quant à l'examen des pratiques d'approvisionnement des organisations fédérales.

4. À quoi dois-je m'attendre lorsque je communique avec le Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement?

Le BOA a adopté un modèle opérationnel « axé sur le service » et il s'engage à offrir aux fournisseurs qui communiquent avec lui un service rapide, personnalisé et intégré.

Lorsque des fournisseurs communiquent avec nous, ils peuvent s'attendre à faire affaire avec la même personne pendant toute la durée de leurs communications avec le BOA. Lorsqu'ils composent le numéro sans frais du BOA, les fournisseurs peuvent s'attendre à parler à quelqu'un directement ou, s'ils laissent un message, à ce qu'on les rappelle dans les 24 heures. L'employé du BOA qui vous répondra sera chargé de vous aider tout au long du processus.

L'une de nos fonctions essentielles consiste à comprendre vos préoccupations et à trouver des manières de désamorcer les problèmes; c'est pourquoi l'employé du BOA :

  • écoute et précise votre problème;
  • vous offre des renseignements d'ordre général sur l'approvisionnement fédéral;
  • vous offre des options à considérer;
  • communique avec l'organisation fédérale avec laquelle vous avez traité pour faciliter un dialogue ouvert et constructif, si vous n'avez pas soumis de plainte écrite et avec votre permission.

Le modèle opérationnel du BOA invite les fournisseurs et les ministères à discuter des questions en jeu de manière ouverte et directe. Notre rôle est de guider les fournisseurs et les ministères quant à la résolution des problèmes en nous fondant sur la compréhension de leurs préoccupations et de leurs besoins respectifs. Cette approche vise à favoriser des résolutions efficaces des enjeux, et ce, d'une manière rapide et rentable.

Lorsque vous communiquez avec nous, vous n'êtes pas obligé de déposer une plainte. Vous pouvez abandonner les procédures à tout moment, à votre gré. Si vous choisissez de déposer une plainte, nous déterminerons dans un délai de dix (10) jours ouvrables si nous pouvons ou non l'examiner. Nous devons informer le plaignant et le ministère de notre décision. Nous sommes aussi dans l'obligation de fournir au ministère une copie de la plainte et de tous les documents que vous nous avez soumis, que nous étudiions la plainte ou non.

5. Qui peut déposer une plainte auprès de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement?

Un fournisseur qui a un établissement au Canada.

6. Où dois-je envoyer ma demande?

Pour obtenir un formulaire de plainte allez à la page Déposer une plainte – Survol. Vous pouvez soumettre un formulaire de plainte en ligne, par télécopieur au 613-947-9800, ou encore, par courrier ou en personne à l'adresse suivante :

Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement
Édifice Constitution Square
340, rue Albert, bureau 1150
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1R 7Y6

Pour toute question, n'hésitez pas à communiquer avec nous sans frais au 1-866-734-5169.

7. Y-a-t-il un délai à respecter pour le dépôt d'une plainte?

Dans le cas d'un problème visant l'attribution d'un contrat, vous disposez de 30 jours ouvrables suivant l'avis public de l'attribution du contrat pour déposer une plainte écrite auprès du BOA. Si aucun avis public n'a été émis, vous disposez de 30 jours ouvrables suivant le jour où vous avez pris ou auriez dû prendre connaissance de l'attribution du contrat. Si le problème vise plutôt l'administration d'un contrat, vous disposez de 30 jours ouvrables suivant le jour où vous avez pris ou auriez dû prendre connaissance des problèmes ayant donné lieu à la plainte.

Pour obtenir un formulaire de plainte allez à la page Déposer une plainte – Survol. Vous pouvez soumettre un formulaire de plainte en ligne, par télécopieur au 613-947-9800, ou encore, par courrier ou en personne à l'adresse suivante :

Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement
Édifice Constitution Square
340, rue Albert, bureau 1150
Ottawa (Ontario)  K1R 7Y6

8. Qu'en coûte-t-il pour déposer une plainte auprès de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement?

Il n'y a aucuns frais pour le dépôt ou le traitement d'une plainte.

9. Qu'arrive-t-il après le dépôt de ma plainte?

Une fois que vous nous aurez fait parvenir toute l'information nécessaire ainsi que les documents connexes, nous devons évaluer ces renseignements afin de déterminer si la plainte respecte les paramètres réglementaires qui régissent les activités du BOA.

Si, à la suite de l'évaluation, il est établi que votre plainte peut être étudiée, nous vous informerons du lancement de l'examen et vous tiendrons au courant de son avancement. À la fin de l'examen, vous recevrez un rapport présentant nos conclusions et nos recommandations. Un résumé de notre rapport est mis à la disposition du public sur notre site Web. Conformément aux exigences du Règlement concernant l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement, une copie du rapport est transmise au ministre de Travaux publics et Services gouvernementaux Canada et au ministre de l'organisation visée par la plainte. Une copie de courtoisie est également transmise à l'administrateur général de l'organisation visée.

Si nous ne sommes pas en mesure d'étudier votre plainte, nous vous expliquerons les raisons par écrit et nous tenterons de vous présenter des options pour traiter votre problème. Par exemple, si le contrat visé a une valeur de plus de 25 000 $ pour des biens ou de 100 000 $ pour des services, nous ferons de notre mieux pour vous fournir le nom de personnes-ressources qui seraient mieux placées pour vous aider.

Le BOA vous informera vous et le ministère visé de notre décision d'examiner ou non la plainte dans les dix (10) jours ouvrables suivant la réception de toute l'information nécessaire. De plus, nous devons fournir au ministère une copie de la plainte et de tous les documents soumis, que nous l'ayons examinée ou non.

Pour toute question liée à l'interprétation ou à l'application des modalités de votre contrat, nous pourrions être en mesure de vous offrir un service de règlement extrajudiciaire des différents.

10. Une autre personne peut-elle déposer une plainte en mon nom?

Une plainte écrite peut être déposée en votre nom. Dans les cas où le formulaire de plainte en ligne est utilisé, la personne devra indiquer, le cas échéant, qu'elle dépose la plainte en votre nom. Si la plainte écrite est présentée par courrier, par télécopieur ou en personne, l'agent autorisé déposant la plainte devra signer le formulaire de plainte original.

11. L'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement communiquera-t-il avec le ou les ministères concernés?

Après avoir reçu votre autorisation par écrit, nous communiquerons avec l'organisation fédérale concernée afin d'aborder le problème lié à l'approvisionnement que vous avez soulevé.

Si vous déposez une plainte, nous déterminerons dans un délai de dix (10) jours ouvrables si nous pouvons ou non examiner la plainte. Nous devons informer le plaignant et le ministère de notre décision. En outre, conformément au Règlement concernant l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement, nous devons également transmettre à l'organisation fédérale concernée une copie de la plainte et des documents connexes, et ce, même si ne pouvons pas l'examiner.

12. Mon nom ou le nom de mon entreprise seront-ils communiqués au ministère concerné?

Lorsque vous communiquez avec nous au sujet d'un problème lié aux marchés publics fédéraux, et que vous n'avez pas encore déposé de plainte, nous ne communiquerons pas avec l'organisme fédéral concerné ni ne mentionnerons votre nom ou celui de votre entreprise sans avoir obtenu au préalable votre autorisation par écrit.

Si vous déposez une plainte, nous déterminerons dans un délai de dix (10) jours ouvrables si nous pouvons ou non l'examiner. Nous devons informer le plaignant et le ministère de notre décision. En outre, conformément au Règlement, nous devons également transmettre à l'organisation fédérale concernée une copie de la plainte et des documents connexes, et ce, même si ne pouvons pas l'examiner.

13. L'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement peut-il annuler ou modifier des contrats?

Non. L'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement n'a pas le pouvoir d'annuler un contrat ou de modifier les modalités d'un contrat.

14. L'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement peut-il imposer des sanctions, des pénalités ou des redressements lorsqu'il est prouvé que les ministères n'ont pas respecté les règles?

Non. Toutefois, l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement peut recommander à un ministère de verser une indemnité à un fournisseur relativement à une plainte ayant trait à l'attribution d'un contrat. L'ombudsman tient compte de plusieurs facteurs lorsqu'il juge qu'une indemnité doit être versée, à savoir :

  • si la personne qui dépose la plainte a présenté une soumission ou a été empêchée de le faire;
  • si la personne qui dépose la plainte avait pu se voir attribuer le contrat sans l'intervention du ministère;
  • la mesure dans laquelle on a porté préjudice au plaignant pendant le processus d'appel d'offres.