What to expect: Complaint review guide

April 2017

Promoting Fairness, Openness and Transparency in Federal Procurement

1. Introduction

This guide outlines the Office of the Procurement Ombudsman’s (OPO) process and timelines for conducting reviews of complaints after a review has been launched. This guide also provides an overview of the expectations for all parties involved.

1.1 The Procurement Ombudsman’s mandate

Paragraph 22.1(3)(b) and (c) of the Department of Public Works and Government Services Act states:

  • The Procurement Ombudsman shall, in accordance with the regulations:
    • (b) review any complaint respecting the compliance with any regulations made under the Financial Administration Act of the award of a contract for the acquisition of materiel or services by a department […]
    • (c) review any complaint respecting the administration of a contract for the acquisition of materiel or services by a department

1.2 What type of complaints can Office of the Procurement Ombudsman review

OPO reviews two types of complaints:

  • complaints on the award of a federal contract where the value of the contract is less than $25,000 for goods or less than $100,000 for services
  • complaints on the administration of a federal contract for the acquisition of materiel or services where the interpretation and application of the terms and conditions or the scope of work is not in dispute. There are no dollar thresholds with regard to the review of the administration of a contract

1.3 Who can file a complaint

In order to file a complaint, a supplier must:

  • have a place of business in Canada
  • have bid on the contract unless it was prevented from doing so because of the actions of the contracting department (in the case of a complaint about the award of a contract)
  • be a party to the contract (in the case of a complaint about the administration of a contract)
  • have filed the complaint in writing, containing the required information within the regulated timelines

Looking for information on how to file a complaint? Call the Office’s toll free number 1-866-734-5169 for information.

1.4 Which federal organizations does Office of the Procurement Ombudsman review

OPO reviews the award and administration of contracts of organizations listed in schedules I, schedules I.1 and schedules II of the Financial Administration Act. However, Section 3 of the Procurement Ombudsman Regulations (Regulations) stipulates that the Procurement Ombudsman shall not review complaints in respect of the following departments:

  1. the Canadian Security Intelligence Service
  2. the staff of the Senate and the House of Commons

2. What to expect—Office of the Procurement Ombudsman and the complainant

2.1 What the complainant can expect from Office of the Procurement Ombudsman

OPO will:

  • explain the process and timelines OPO must adhere to
  • request additional documents from the complainant not submitted as part of the complaint, including all communications between the complainant and the contracting organization regarding the contract in question
  • remain neutral and objective throughout the review
  • provide a copy of the review report to the complainant, the minister of the contracting organization and the Minister of Public Services and Procurement, as required by the Regulations

2.2 What Office of the Procurement Ombudsman expects from the complainant

The complainant shall provide to OPO, in a timely manner, all information and documents required by the Regulations and relevant to the review.  

3. What to expect—Office of the Procurement Ombudsman and the Contracting Organization

3.1 What the contracting organization can expect from Office of the Procurement Ombudsman

OPO will:

  • provide deputy head of the contracting organization with a copy of the complaint and any associated documents
  • request the contracting organization respond to the issues raised in the complaint, in writing, as per the Regulations
  • request copies of all documents associated with the contract in question
  • request copies of the policies, standards, guidelines and procedures governing the organization’s procurement that were in effect at the time
  • remain neutral and objective throughout the review
  • adhere to Government of Canada and organizational security and information management requirements regarding the handling and safeguarding of sensitive information
  • provide a copy of the review report to the complainant, the minister of the contracting organization and the Minister of Public Services and Procurement, as required by the Regulations

3.2 What Office of the Procurement Ombudsman expects from the contracting organization

The contracting organization shall:

  • provide copies of information and documents, or access to information and documents, within the timelines prescribed in Section 11 of the Regulations, which will be specified in the review launch letter sent to the deputy head of the organization
  • provide OPO with the entire file (including procurement, program and financial files) related to the contract in question, as well as the organization’s procurement-related policies, standards, guidelines and procedures
  • inform OPO in a timely manner of matters pertinent to the review of the complaint

Timely Access to Information

Sections 14 and 22 of the Regulations require the Procurement Ombudsman to complete the review of a complaint and issue a report within 120 working days after the day on which the complaint is filed. Therefore, timely access to information and documents is crucial to the review process. The contracting organization will be informed of the timelines to provide all requested information and documents in the launch letter sent to the deputy head of the organization. In the event that OPO encounters problems obtaining information or documents in a timely manner during the review of a complaint, the matter will be escalated. Delays in providing requested information or documents will be considered a denial of access and form part of the review’s report.

Failure to Provide Documents

The fact that a document is not available to the public, or accessible via an Access to Information request, is not a valid reason for denying access to OPO. Documents related to the contract in question are requested by the Procurement Ombudsman through a provision of the Regulations (and not through the Access to Information Act). As such, federal organizations should not deny access to, or redact documents in accordance with, the provisions of the Access to Information Act. OPO’s access to information and documents necessary to conduct the review in accordance with the Regulations is not limited by the Access to Information Act (AIA).

OPO is subject to the AIA and therefore would only publicly release documents provided by the contracting organization or the complainant in instances where an Access to Information Request were received and, in those instances, would only release documents in accordance with the AIA. This means that, subject to the Access to Information Act, confidential or sensitive information (for example, third party financial information) would not be released by OPO as it is required by the AIA to refuse to disclose such information. Moreover, in instances where OPO is contemplating releasing documents, which were created by others (e.g. the contracting organization or the complainant), under the AIA, OPO would consult, as required by the AIA, with the originator(s) of the documents.

Finally, OPO staff are subject to Government of Canada security requirements and all documents will be handled in accordance with their designated security level.

4. Complaint Review phases

Reviews of complaints are carried out in the following phases:

  • Review Initiation
  • Analysis and Report Writing
  • Report Release

4.1 Review Initiation

In instances where a complaint meets the requirements of the Regulations, launch letters are sent to the complainant and the contracting organization within 10 working days of the complaint being filed.

The letter to the contracting organization informs its deputy head that the complaint met the requirements of the Regulations and therefore the Procurement Ombudsman is required to launch a review of the complaint. The letter requests all information and documents associated with the contract in question, as well as all policies, standards, guidelines and procedures governing the organization’s procurement that were in effect at the time, be provided to OPO within specified timelines.

The letter to the complainant notifies him or her that the complaint met OPO’s regulated requirements and that the review process has been initiated. The letter also requests any additional documents, not submitted as part of the complaint, be provided to OPO.

4.2 Analysis and Report Writing

During the analysis phase, OPO will examine the issue(s) identified in the complaint and, as required by subsection 12(1) of the Regulations, take into consideration any relevant factors, including the following:

  • whether the complainant would have had a reasonable prospect of being awarded the contract, were it not for the actions of the contracting organization
  • the seriousness of any deficiency in complying with the various regulations made under the Financial Administration Act
  • the failure or refusal of the complainant to provide information about its goods and services at the request of the contracting department
  • the degree to which the complainant was prejudiced
  • the degree to which the fairness, openness or transparency of the procurement process was prejudiced
  • whether any of the parties acted in bad faith

OPO will prepare a review of complaint report. The report will address each issue raised in the complaint, and comment on the factors listed in subsection 12(1) of the Regulations as appropriate. The report is issued by the Procurement Ombudsman.

4.3 Report Release

Once the review is complete, the Procurement Ombudsman provides his or her findings and any recommendations in a written report.

A copy of the report issued by the Ombudsman will be provided to the complainant, the minister of the contracting organization and the Minister of Public Services and Procurement, as required by the Regulations.

For reviews about the award of a contract, the Procurement Ombudsman may recommend compensation of up to 10 percent of the value of the contract awarded (not including the value of any options or extensions of the contract). The Ombudsman cannot recommend the cancellation of a contract. If observations not directly related to the issues raised in the complaint are noted during the analysis, the Procurement Ombudsman may choose to comment on them in the report or raise them separately with the deputy head of the contracting organization.

The results of the review will be summarized on OPO’s website and reported in OPO’s Annual Report.

5. Additional reference materials

For more information, consult OPO’s:

Guide à quoi s'attendre – Examen des plaintes

Avril 2017

Promouvoir l’équité, l’ouverture et la transparence du processus d’approvisionnement du gouvernement fédéral

1. Introduction

Le présent guide décrit le processus et le calendrier utilisés par le Bureau de l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement (BOA) concernant l’examen des plaintes une fois l’examen lancé. Il donne également un aperçu des attentes de toutes les parties impliquées.

1.1 Mandat de l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement

Les alinéas 22.1(3)b) et c) de la Loi sur le ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux prévoient ce qui suit :

  • L’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement exerce les attributions ci-après conformément aux règlements :
    • b) examiner toute plainte relative à la conformité aux règlements d’application de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques concernant l’attribution d’un marché de l’État en vue de l’acquisition de matériel ou de services par un ministère […]
    • c) examiner toute plainte relative à la gestion de tout marché de l’État en vue de l’acquisition de matériel ou de services par un ministère

1.2 Quels types de plaintes le Bureau de l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement peut-il examiner

Le BOA examine deux types de plaintes :

  • les plaintes concernant l’attribution d’un contrat fédéral dont la valeur est inférieure à 25 000 $ pour les biens et à 100 000 $ pour les services
  • les plaintes concernant la gestion d’un contrat fédéral pour l’acquisition de biens ou de services et dont l’interprétation et l’application des modalités du contrat ne sont pas contestées. Pour ce type d’examen il n’y a pas de seuil monétaire à respecter

1.3 Qui peut porter plainte

Afin de déposer une plainte, le fournisseur doit :

  • posséder un lieu d’affaires au Canada
  • avoir présenté une soumission en vue de l’obtention du contrat, à moins qu’il n’ait pas été en mesure de le faire en raison des mesures prises par le ministère responsable du contrat (dans le cas d’une plainte concernant l’attribution d’un contrat)
  • être une partie prenante au contrat (dans le cas d’une plainte concernant la gestion d’un contrat)
  • avoir déposé une plainte par écrit contenant toutes les informations requises dans les délais réglementaires

Vous voulez savoir comment déposer une plainte? Contactez-nous en composant le 1-866-734-5169.

1.4 Quelles organisations fédérales sont visées par les examens de l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement

L’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement examine l’attribution et la gestion des contrats des organisations fédérales énumérées aux annexes I, annexes I.1 et annexes II de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. Toutefois, l’article 3 du Règlement concernant l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement (le Règlement) stipule que l’ombudsman ne doit pas examiner les plaintes concernant les ministères suivants :

  1. le Service canadien du renseignement de sécurité
  2. le personnel du Sénat et de la Chambre des communes

2. À quoi doivent s’attendre le Bureau de l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement et le plaignant

2.1 À quoi le plaignant peut-il s’attendre de la part du Bureau de l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement

Le BOA fera ce qui suit :

  • expliquera le processus et les échéanciers auxquels il doit se conformer
  • demandera tous les documents qui n’ont pas été soumis par le plaignant, notamment les communications entre le plaignant et l’organisation fédérale concernée au sujet de la plainte
  • sera neutre et objectif pendant toute la durée de l’examen
  • fournira une copie du rapport d’examen au plaignant, au ministre de l’organisation contractante et au ministre des Services publics et de l’Approvisionnement, tel que stipulé dans le Règlement

2.2 À quoi le Bureau de l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement s’attend de la part des plaignants

Le plaignant devra fournir au BOA, selon un échéancier précis, tous les renseignements et documents nécessaire à l’examen, conformément au Règlement.

3. À quoi doivent s’attendre le Bureau de l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement et l’organisation contractante

3.1 À quoi l’organisation contractante peut-elle s’attendre de la part du Bureau de l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement

Le BOA fera ce qui suit :

  • fournira à l’organisation contractante une copie du formulaire de plainte complété et tous les documents connexes
  • demandera à l’organisation contractante de répondre aux questions soulevées dans la plainte, par écrit, conformément au Règlement
  • demandera des copies de tous les documents associés au contrat en question
  • demandera copies de toutes les politiques, normes, directives et processus en vigueur au moment de l’octroi du contrat
  • sera neutre et objectif pendant toute la durée de l’examen
  • respectera les exigences du gouvernement du Canada et de l’organisation en matière de sécurité et de gestion de l’information concernant le traitement et la protection d’information de nature délicate
  • fournira une copie du rapport d’examen au plaignant, au ministre de l’organisation contractante et au ministre des Services publics et de l’Approvisionnement, conformément au Règlement

3.2 À quoi le Bureau de l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement s’attend de la part de l’organisation contractante

L’organisation contractante doit :

  • fournir copie de l’information et des documents ou l’accès à l’information et aux documents dans les délais fixés dans la première lettre à l’organisation, conformément à l’article 11 du Règlement
  • fournir au BOA l’ensemble du dossier d’approvisionnement (y compris le programme et les dossiers financiers) relié au contrat en question, ainsi que les politiques, les normes, les directives et la correspondance de l’organisation avec le plaignant
  • informer le BOA des questions pertinentes à l’examen de la plainte selon l’échéancier

Accès rapide à l’information

Conformément aux articles 14 et 22 du Règlement, l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement doit réaliser l’examen d’une plainte et de publier un rapport dans un délai de 120 jours ouvrables suivant le dépôt de celle-ci. Par conséquent, l’accès rapide à l’information et aux documents est essentiel dans le cadre du processus d’examen. L’organisation contractante sera informée de la date limite pour fournir toute l’information et les documents demandés dans la lettre de lancement du processus d’examen transmise à l’administrateur général de l’organisation contractante. Si le BOA a de la difficulté à obtenir rapidement l’information et les documents demandés durant l’examen d’une plainte, la demande sera transmise à un échelon supérieur. Le fait de tarder à fournir l’information et les documents demandés sera considéré comme un refus d’accès et sera consigné dans le rapport d’examen.

Omission de transmettre des documents

Le fait qu’un document ne puisse être rendu public ou faire l’objet d’une demande d’accès à l’information n’est pas une raison valable pour en refuser l’accès au BOA. Ce dernier s’appuie sur une disposition du Règlement pour obtenir les documents liés au contrat. Par conséquent, les organisations fédérales ne devraient pas refuser ou caviarder les documents selon les dispositions de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information (LAI). Les dispositions de la LAI ne s’appliquent pas lorsque l’on fournit au BOA de l’information et des documents aux fins d’examen.

Le BOA est assujetti à la LAI et doit rendre public les documents fournis par l’organisation contractante ou le plaignant lorsqu’une demande d’accès à l’information est reçue. Le BOA ne rendra public que les documents demandés selon la LAI. En d’autres mots, les informations confidentielles ou délicates (comme des informations financières d’une tierce partie) ne seront pas divulguées par le BOA tel que requis par la LAI. De plus, dans le cas où le BOA envisagerait de rendre public des documents créés par d’autres (i.e. l’organisation contractante ou le plaignant), il consultera, comme stipulé dans la LAI, les propriétaires des dits documents.

Finalement, le personnel du BOA est assujetti aux exigences en matière de sécurité du gouvernement du Canada, et tous les documents seront traités conformément à leur niveau de sécurité approprié.

4. Étapes du processus d’examen de la plainte

L’examen des plaintes comprend les étapes suivantes :

  • le lancement de l’examen
  • l’analyse et la rédaction du rapport
  • la publication du rapport

4.1 Lancement de l’examen

Lorsque la plainte est conforme aux dispositions du Règlement, des lettres de lancement sont envoyées au plaignant et à l’organisation contractante dans les dix jours ouvrables suivant la réception de la plainte.

La lettre transmise à l’organisation contractante informe l’administrateur général que la plainte respectait les dispositions du Règlement et que, par conséquent, l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement doit lancer un processus d’examen de la plainte. La lettre indique que l’ensemble de l’information et des documents associés au contrat en question, de même que toutes les politiques, normes, directives et processus en vigueur lors de l’octroi du contrat, doivent être fournis à l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement dans les délais fixés. La lettre transmise au plaignant lui indique que la plainte respectait les exigences réglementées du BOA et que le processus d’examen a été lancé. La lettre demande également tous les autres documents qui n’ont pas été fournis dans le cadre de la plainte et qui doivent être transmis à l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement.

4.2 Analyse et rédaction du rapport

Au cours de l’analyse, le BOA examinera les problèmes soulevés dans la plainte et, conformément au paragraphe 12(1) du Règlement, prendra en compte les facteurs pertinents, y compris ce qui suit :

  • si, n’eût été les actions de l’organisation contractante, le plaignant aurait pu avoir des chances raisonnables de se voir attribuer le contrat
  • la gravité du manque de conformité avec les différents règlements pris en vertu de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques
  • le défaut ou le refus du plaignant de fournir au ministère contractant des renseignements sur ses produits et services à la demande de ce dernier
  • l’ampleur du préjudice subi par le plaignant
  • l’ampleur des manquements à l’équité, à l’ouverture ou à la transparence du processus d’acquisition en cause
  • le fait que l’une ou l’autre des parties en cause ait été de mauvaise foi

Le BOA préparera un rapport d’examen de la plainte qui soulignera tous les enjeux soulevés en plus de prendre en compte les éléments pertinents conformément au paragraphe 12(1) du Règlement. Le rapport est publié par l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement.

4.3 Publication du rapport

Une fois l’examen terminé, l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement fourni ses constatations et ses recommandations dans un rapport. Une copie de ce rapport sera fournie au plaignant, au ministre de l’organisation contractante et au ministre des Services publics et de l’Approvisionnement, conformément au Règlement.

Pour les examens concernant l’attribution d’un contrat, l’ombudsman peut recommander le versement d’une indemnisation pouvant atteindre jusqu’à 10 % de la valeur du contrat attribué (mais ne tenant pas compte de la valeur des années d’option ou de prolongations du contrat). L’ombudsman ne peut recommander l’annulation d’un contrat. Si des observations qui ne sont pas directement liées aux problèmes soulevés dans la plainte sont notées au cours de l’examen, l’ombudsman de l’approvisionnement peut choisir de formuler des commentaires sur ceux-ci dans le rapport ou en faire part à l’administrateur général de l’organisation contractante dans un document distinct. Un sommaire de l’examen sera affiché sur le site Web du BOA et figurera dans le Rapport annuel du BOA.

5. Autres documents de référence

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, veuillez consulter le site du BOA :