Relevant Acts, Regulations and Policies

Office of the Procurement Ombudsman

The following Acts and Regulations govern the Office of the Procurement Ombudsman:

Federal Accountability Act

Through this Act and its related Action Plan, the Government of Canada brought forward specific measures to help strengthen accountability and increase transparency and oversight in government operations.

In particular, the Federal Accountability Act amended the Department of Public Works and Government Services Act to provide for the appointment and mandate of a Procurement Ombudsman.

Department of Public Works and Government Services Act

This Act sets out the mandate of the Procurement Ombudsman:

  • Review the practices of departments for acquiring materiel and services to assess their fairness, openness and transparency and make any appropriate recommendations to the relevant department for the improvement of those practices;
  • Review any complaint respecting the compliance with any regulations made under the Financial Administration Act of the award of a contract for the acquisition of materiel or services by a department to which the Agreement, as defined in section 2 of the Agreement on Internal Trade Implementation Act, would apply if the value of the contract were not less than the amount referred to in article 502 of that Agreement;
  • Review any complaint respecting the administration of a contract for the acquisition of materiel or services by a department; and
  • Ensure that an alternative dispute resolution process is provided, on request of each party to such a contract.
  • The Procurement Ombudsman shall also perform any other duty or function respecting the practices of departments for acquiring materiel and services that may be assigned to the Procurement Ombudsman by order of the Governor in Council or the Minister.

Procurement Ombudsman Regulations

The Office of the Procurement Ombudsman became operational when the Procurement Ombudsman Regulations came into force in May 2008. The Regulations set out the parameters under which the Procurement Ombudsman is to carry out his mandate.

Federal Government Procurement

The following Acts, Regulations and Policies govern procurement in the federal government:

Financial Administration Act

This Act provides for the financial administration of the Government of Canada, the establishment and maintenance of the accounts of Canada and the control of Crown corporations. The following commitment in the Act is specifically focussed on federal procurement:

"The Government of Canada is committed to taking appropriate measures to promote fairness, openness and transparency in the bidding process for contracts with Her Majesty for the performance of work, the supply of goods or the rendering of services."

The Act also states:

"The Governor in Council may make regulations with respect to the conditions under which contracts may be entered into…"

Government Contracts Regulations

These Regulations were created under the authority provided by the Financial Administration Act.

Part I of the Government Contracts Regulations deals with conditions of contract entry. Sections 5 and 7 of the Regulations require that, subject to the exception in section 6, bids must be solicited before any contract is entered into. In particular, a contracting authority shall solicit bids by

  • giving public notice, in a manner consistent with generally accepted trade practices, of a call for bids respecting a proposed contract; or
  • inviting bids on a proposed contract from suppliers on the suppliers' list.

The regulations allow, a contracting authority to enter into a contract without soliciting bids where one or more of the exceptions in Section 6 of the Regulations applies. These are generally described as: pressing emergency, the estimated expenditure is under a specific dollar threshold, it is not in the public interest to solicit bids, or only one supplier is capable of performing the contract.

Treasury Board Contracting Policy

This policy states the "objective of government procurement contracting is to acquire goods and services and to carry out construction in a manner that enhances access, competition and fairness and results in best value or, if appropriate, the optimal balance of overall benefits to the Crown and the Canadian people."

Comprehensive Land Claims Agreements

The Government of Canada has entered into Comprehensive Land Claims Agreements with Aboriginal peoples. These agreements have the force of law and are protected in Canada's Constitution.

Comprehensive Land Claim Agreements often contain provisions for economic development that oblige Canada to conduct the purchase of goods, services or construction services in a way that is fair, transparent, and opens the bidding process to Aboriginal groups in Comprehensive Land Claim Agreement areas.

PWGSC's Code of Conduct for Procurement

Canada's Code of Conduct for Procurement consolidates the federal government's measures on conflict of interest, anti-corruption as well as other legislative, and policy requirements relating specifically to procurement.

It provides all those involved in the procurement process - public servants and suppliers alike - with a clear statement of mutual expectations to ensure a common understanding among all participants in federal procurement.

Other Acts, Regulations and Policies

In addition to the above, a number of other acts, regulations and policies also apply specifically to contracting for goods and services, and construction services by departments.

Lois, règlements et politiques applicables

Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement

Les lois et règlements ci-dessous régissent le Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement :

Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité

Grâce à cette loi et au plan d'action connexe, le gouvernement du Canada a instauré des mesures précises pour aider à renforcer la responsabilisation et à accroître la transparence et la surveillance des opérations gouvernementales.

En particulier, la Loi fédérale sur la responsabilité modifie la Loi sur le ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux pour prévoir la nomination et le mandat de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement.

Loi sur le ministère des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux

Cette loi établit le mandat de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement :

  • examiner les pratiques d'acquisition de matériel et de services des ministères pour en évaluer l'équité, l'ouverture et la transparence, et présenter, le cas échéant, au ministère concerné des recommandations pour les améliorer;
  • examiner toute plainte relative à la conformité aux règlements d'application de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques concernant l'attribution d'un marché de l'État en vue de l'acquisition de matériel ou de services par un ministère qui serait assujetti à l'Accord, au sens de l'article 2 de la Loi de mise en œuvre de l'Accord sur le commerce intérieur, si sa valeur n'était pas inférieure à la somme indiquée à l'article 502 de cet accord;
  • examiner toute plainte relative à la gestion de tout marché de l'État en vue de l'acquisition de matériel ou de services par un ministère;
  • veiller à donner l'accès à un mécanisme de règlement extrajudiciaire des différends, sur demande des parties à un tel contrat.
  • L'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement peut également exercer toute autre fonction que le gouverneur en conseil ou le ministre peut lui attribuer par décret ou arrêté, selon le cas, à l'égard des pratiques d'acquisition de matériel et de services des ministères.

Règlement concernant l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement

Le Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement est opérationnel depuis l'entrée en vigueur, en mai 2008, du Règlement concernant l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement. Le Règlement établit les paramètres selon lesquels l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement doit exercer son mandat.

Pratiques d'approvisionnement du gouvernement fédéral

Les lois, règlements et politiques ci-dessous régissent les approvisionnements du gouvernement fédéral :

Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques

Cette loi prévoit, pour la gestion financière du gouvernement du Canada, la création et la tenue des comptes du Canada et le contrôle des sociétés d'État. L'engagement suivant indiqué dans la Loi met précisément l'accent sur les approvisionnements du gouvernement fédéral :

« Le gouvernement fédéral s'engage à prendre les mesures indiquées pour favoriser l'équité, l'ouverture et la transparence du processus d'appel d'offres en vue de la passation avec Sa Majesté de marchés de fournitures, de marchés de services ou de marchés de travaux. »

La Loi indique également :

« Le gouverneur en conseil peut, par règlement, fixer les conditions réputées faire partie intégrante […] des contrats […]. »

Règlement sur les marchés de l'État

Ce règlement a été pris en application de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques.

La partie I du Règlement sur les marchés de l'État traite des conditions de conclusion des marchés. Les articles 5 et 7 du Règlement prévoient que, sous réserve des exceptions indiquées à l'article 6, un appel d'offres doit être lancé avant la conclusion d'un marché. Plus précisément, l'autorité contractante doit lancer un appel d'offres de la façon suivante :

  • soit en donnant un avis public à cet effet conformément aux pratiques commerciales généralement reconnues;
  • soit en s'adressant aux fournisseurs dont le nom figure sur la liste de fournisseurs.

Le Règlement permet à une autorité contractante de conclure un marché sans lancer d'appel d'offres lorsque s'appliquent l'une ou plusieurs des exceptions indiquées à l'article 6. Ces exceptions sont, généralement, les cas d'extrême urgence, les cas où le montant estimatif de la dépense ne dépasse pas un seuil monétaire précis, les cas où la nature du marché est telle qu'un appel d'offres ne servirait pas l'intérêt public ou les cas où le marché ne peut être exécuté que par une seule personne.

Politique sur les marchés du Conseil du Trésor

Cette politique énonce ce qui suit : « L'objectif des marchés publics est de permettre l'acquisition de biens et de services et l'exécution de travaux de construction, d'une manière qui contribue à accroître l'accès, la concurrence et l'équité, qui soit la plus rentable ou, le cas échéant, la plus conforme aux intérêts de l'État et du peuple canadien. »

Accords sur le règlement des revendications territoriales globales

Le gouvernement du Canada a conclu des ententes sur les revendications territoriales globales avec les Premières nations. Ces ententes ont force de loi et sont protégées par la Constitution du Canada.

Les Accords sur le règlement des revendications territoriales contiennent souvent des dispositions relatives au développement économique qui obligent le Canada à effectuer l'acquisition de biens et de services ou l'exécution de travaux de construction d'une manière juste et transparente et qui ouvre le mécanisme des appels d'offres aux groupes autochtones mentionnés dans les Accords sur le règlement des revendications territoriales.

TPSGC : Code de conduite pour l'approvisionnement

Le Code de conduite du Canada pour l'approvisionnement regroupe les mesures du gouvernement fédéral en ce qui a trait aux conflits d'intérêt et à la lutte contre la corruption ainsi que d'autres exigences de lois et de politiques concernant expressément l'approvisionnement.

Il fournit à toutes les personnes participant au processus d'approvisionnement - fonctionnaires ou fournisseurs - un énoncé clair des attentes mutuelles, de façon à ce que tous les participants aient une connaissance de base commune.

Autres lois, règlements et politiques applicables

En plus des lois, règlements et politiques mentionnés ci-dessus, nombre d'autres s'appliquent également à la passation de contrats de biens et de services et de travaux de construction par les ministères.