Formative Evaluation of the Office of the Procurement Ombudsman

Shortly after being appointed Procurement Ombudsman, I commissioned a formative evaluation to assess the Office of the Procurement Ombudsman's overall effectiveness during the first three years of operations, namely between 2008-09 and 2010-11. My intent was to utilize the evaluation results to guide any necessary adjustments to improve our service delivery to suppliers.

To assure myself that this work was neutral and independent, two steps were undertaken:

  1. A private sector contractor was engaged to carry out an evidence-based analysis, which included obtaining the views of the supplier community and departmental officials; and
  2. An external advisory committee, consisting of senior private sector and federal government officials, was established to provide feedback and advice on matters related to the formative evaluation.

I am pleased to make available the results of this work. The formative evaluation report concludes that the OPO has been implemented as intended and that there is an ongoing "strong" need for the services provided by the Office. The report identifies areas to be further examined in order to address three issues raised by suppliers involved in the evaluation, specifically:

  • Whether departments should be able to decline participation in an alternative dispute resolution (ADR) process once it has been requested by a supplier as this reduces the effectiveness of this method of resolving procurement disputes.
  • The OPO should continue its existing outreach plan to increase awareness and access to OPO services so as to maximize awareness of the OPO among suppliers to the federal government.
  • A significant number of suppliers and some government officials indicated that the mandate of the OPO should be expanded to better address the complaints of small and medium sized businesses regarding federal procurement. Additional analysis is being undertaken to assess the advantages and disadvantages of doing this.

The report also identifies areas where we can improve our operations, namely through reporting on our service standards and developing additional performance indicators.

I have accepted the recommendations made in the report, and a corresponding action plan is being implemented. I am confident that pursuing the areas identified in the independent evaluation report will go a long way in better serving the many suppliers who supply goods and services to federal departments and agencies.

Frank Brunetta
Procurement Ombudsman

Final Report

Report Prepared For:

Office of the Procurement Ombudsman

July 30, 2012

Submitted By:

Don Ference, President
Ference Weicker & Company Ltd.
550-475 West Georgia Street
Vancouver, BC V6B 4M9
Tel: 604-688-2424(extension #304)
Email: ference@shaw.ca

Download or print a PDF copy (959KB)

Help with Alternative Formats

Évaluation formative du Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement

Peu de temps après avoir été nommé ombudsman de l'approvisionnement, j'ai demandé une évaluation formative afin d'évaluer l'efficacité globale du Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement (BOA) au cours de ses trois premières années d'activités, soit entre 2008-2009 et 2010-2011. J'avais l'intention d'utiliser les résultats de l'évaluation pour orienter toute modification nécessaire afin d'améliorer les services que nous offrons aux fournisseurs.

Afin de m'assurer que ce travail était neutre et impartial, deux mesures ont été prises :

  1. Les services d'un entrepreneur du secteur privé ont été retenus afin d'effectuer une analyse fondée sur des données probantes, y compris obtenir les points de vue de la collectivité des fournisseurs et des représentants ministériels.
  2. Un comité consultatif externe, formé de cadres supérieurs du secteur  privé et de ministères fédéraux, a été mis sur pied pour formuler des commentaires et offrir des conseils relatifs à l'évaluation formative.

C'est avec plaisir que je rends publics les résultats de cette évaluation. Le rapport de l'évaluation formative conclut que le BOA a été mis en œuvre comme prévu et qu'il continue d'y avoir un besoin important à l'égard de ses services. Le rapport cible les éléments à analyser plus en détail afin de traiter trois enjeux soulevés par les fournisseurs dans le cadre de l'évaluation, tout particulièrement :

  • Doit-on permettre aux ministères de refuser de participer au processus de règlement extrajudiciaire des différends (RED) lorsqu'un fournisseur en fait la demande puisque cela réduit l'efficacité de cette méthode de règlement des différends contractuels?
  • Le BOA devrait poursuivre la mise en œuvre de son plan de sensibilisation et de rayonnement visant à faire connaître ses services et à les rendre plus accessibles, afin de faire connaître davantage le Bureau aux fournisseurs du gouvernement fédéral.
  • Un nombre important de fournisseurs et certains fonctionnaires ont mentionné que le mandat du BOA devrait être élargi afin de mieux traiter les plaintes des petites et moyennes entreprises relatives aux marchés publics. Des analyses supplémentaires devraient être faites pour évaluer les avantages et les inconvénients de l'élargissement du mandat du BOA.

Le rapport cerne également des éléments à améliorer, notamment l'établissement de rapports sur nos normes de service et le développement d'indicateurs de rendement supplémentaires.

J'ai accepté les recommandations formulées dans le rapport et un plan d'action connexe est mis en œuvre. Je suis convaincu que la poursuite des éléments ciblés dans le rapport d'évaluation indépendant nous permettra de mieux servir les nombreux entrepreneurs qui fournissent des biens et des services aux ministères et organismes fédéraux.

Frank Brunetta
Ombudsman de l'approvisionnement

Rapport final

Rapport préparé pour le :

Bureau de l'ombudsman de l'approvisionnement

le 30 juillet 2012

Présenté par :

Don Ference, président
Ference Weicker & Company Ltd.
475, rue West Georgia, bureau 550
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique) V6B 4M9
Tél. : 604-688-2424 (poste 304)
Courriel : ference@shaw.ca

Télécharger ou imprimer une copie PDF (645Ko)

Aide avec les médias substituts